Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-16-2009, 01:51 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: honolulu
Posts: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJim View Post

- I'd put the 20H up top with the breeders in it, overflow down to the 10g.

- Silicone a wall into the 10g to create a refugium/pump zone setup like a lot of saltwater sumps have. Make the pump zone just big enough to fit the pump. It should keep the fry out of the pump intake. You may have to experiment with cutting teeth in the wall and adding netting.

- Pump the water from the 10g back up to the 20H.

- Set your divider wall height and fill levels in the 10g so that there's room for the overflow to spill enough water to break the siphon when you unplug the pump.

If you set up separate filters for each tank and use the pump/overflow just to mix the water, I don't think you'd need a huge pump.
yeah, sounds about right.
only problem is, a lot of people are not cumfortable fabricating partitions in the tank (although it is pretty easy once you get the hang of it).thats the only reason i suggest a net or plastic pegboard. you could also use some kind of plastic container (tupperware) to hold the pump in the tank, and drill tiny holes in it, too small for the fry to get through, but enough holes to allow water to flow to the pump unrestricted.

as mentioned, if your tanks have filters on them, you would only need a pump powerful enough to push water to the above display (keep in mind the pump head rating when chosing a pump).
keep in mind, with a smaller pump, you will need smaller plumbing. 1/2" cpvc still has a max gravitational flow rating of 150gph, so you will need a pump that pushes close to this after factoring in pump head
__________________

__________________
exodon king is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 03:00 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 297
I like the idea of the horizontal one that you just posted exodon, however i am wondering whether I will get enough return to keep the tank levels stable.
__________________

__________________
th08tu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 03:03 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: honolulu
Posts: 222
if its set up properly, it will run without problems.
__________________
exodon king is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 03:28 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
cabezon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tampa FL
Posts: 1,010
I did a little experiment. I attached a section of tubing to my hob intake and hung it on the 20 where the tube went into the 55. the water levels are the same in both tanks.

I found that the siphon was not strong enough to return the water to the 55. I think that if I can source a small section of pool hose, it will work.

That way I could put both hobs on the 20 and run hoses over to the 55. the hobs dont fit on the 55, under the counter. they dont fit on the 20 really, but I can move that.
__________________
cabezon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 03:33 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 297
thats a great Idea, let me know how it worked when you try the garden hose
__________________
th08tu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 03:39 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: honolulu
Posts: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by cabezon View Post
I did a little experiment. I attached a section of tubing to my hob intake and hung it on the 20 where the tube went into the 55. the water levels are the same in both tanks.

I found that the siphon was not strong enough to return the water to the 55. I think that if I can source a small section of pool hose, it will work.

That way I could put both hobs on the 20 and run hoses over to the 55. the hobs dont fit on the 55, under the counter. they dont fit on the 20 really, but I can move that.
the impellers in HOB filters are rated at 0 pump head (much like powerheads). its not the size of the hose that is making the filter unable to pull from the other tank, its the motor itself.
the only thing that will be accomplished by this experiment is straining and ultimately reducing the life of the HOB filters.

if you want to do the filtration and circulation in one motion (so you dont have to run individual filters on both tanks), your best bet is to go with a central filter system (one sump powering two tanks)
__________________
exodon king is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 03:45 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 297
what if you run individual filters on each tank, how would you keep them in sync so one wouldn't overflow the other tank? Could you do a combination of the U siphon, and filters pumping into each tank?
__________________
th08tu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 04:02 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: honolulu
Posts: 222
sorry, i dont understand the question.

if each tank has its own filter, you just need the circulation system (either over/under or the lifted horizontal system pictured in posts 7 & 10.

but realistically, if youre using the same tap to fill your tanks, and the same dechlor, etc. your water parameters should be the same in both tanks without it. if the "stability" issue youre trying to keep in check is the ammonia/nitrIte/nitrate, then youre better off going with a central filtration system
.
__________________
exodon king is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 04:02 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
cabezon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tampa FL
Posts: 1,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by exodon king View Post
the impellers in HOB filters are rated at 0 pump head (much like powerheads). its not the size of the hose that is making the filter unable to pull from the other tank, its the motor itself.
the only thing that will be accomplished by this experiment is straining and ultimately reducing the life of the HOB filters.

if you want to do the filtration and circulation in one motion (so you dont have to run individual filters on both tanks), your best bet is to go with a central filter system (one sump powering two tanks)
I'm not trying to run two tanks, I'm trying to run the 55 with what I have. DIY. otherwise i could just go buy a canister filter or sump.

you didnt picture what I said. the HOB was perfectly fine drawing water from the 55 to the 20. the problem is that the return tube does not have any pressure and was backed up. If I got a larger diameter return line, it would function. The surfaces of the water in both tanks are at the same level and that is what determines siphon.

Quote:
Originally Posted by th08tu View Post
what if you run individual filters on each tank, how would you keep them in sync so one wouldn't overflow the other tank? Could you do a combination of the U siphon, and filters pumping into each tank?
even if you had two of the same filter one would eventually work harder than the other. and if you put a siphon to balance the tanks you might as well have only one filter.
__________________
cabezon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 04:06 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: honolulu
Posts: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by cabezon View Post
I'm not trying to run two tanks, I'm trying to run the 55 with what I have. DIY. otherwise i could just go buy a canister filter or sump.

you didnt picture what I said. the HOB was perfectly fine drawing water from the 55 to the 20. the problem is that the return tube does not have any pressure and was backed up. If I got a larger diameter return line, it would function. The surfaces of the water in both tanks are at the same level and that is what determines siphon.
youre right, i guess i have no idea what youre talking about.
you have a 55 and a 20, but youre not trying to run two tanks?

what kind of HOB do you have? because every HOB ive ever seen has a slide return, not a "return tube".

you have any pics of this set up? i think im picturing something completely different
__________________

__________________
exodon king is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connect two tanks? wideglide Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 07-17-2007 04:27 AM
How to connect 2 tanks on the cheap. Skyrmir DIY Projects 7 09-14-2005 08:50 AM
wow !! have u all seen this ?? 2 tanks, but they CONNECT !! Bubble_B0y Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 13 08-01-2005 12:47 PM
new way 2 connect 2 tanks!! madchild24 DIY Projects 15 07-13-2005 05:24 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.