Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-28-2013, 01:32 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: loxahatchee fl
Posts: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by DragonFish71 View Post
If you keep your SG about 1.005, the guppies would be just fine with a longer acclimation time. I keep guppies and platies in my BW tank (their fry are live food for my other fish).

Maybe try mud skippers in that set up. They very cool looking and can to the land/water mix. Fiddler crabs would also work well. Ghost shrimp do good in BW and since they are cheap, would also be a good food source for the mud skippers.

As for filtration, I think a submersible filter like the Fluval U series would work fine.
Thanks I will look into the fluval. Am I able to keep the water moving as if there was a tide
__________________

__________________
ms705jk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2013, 01:41 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
But where will you sit your drink? Your remote?
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2013, 01:51 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: loxahatchee fl
Posts: 407
We have end table's for all that. Plus I can not stand remote controls all over the place. I got one of them do everything thing remotes. It works the tv, cable, dvd, and the surround sound. I love it
__________________
ms705jk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2013, 01:55 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: loxahatchee fl
Posts: 407
plus my beautiful loving wife has ocd. We live in a clutter free house. Its so bad the catchall in the kitchen is organized
__________________
ms705jk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2013, 02:11 PM   #15
Great white snark
 
DragonFish71's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Longmont, Colorado
Posts: 6,563
Quote:
Originally Posted by ms705jk View Post
Thanks I will look into the fluval. Am I able to keep the water moving as if there was a tide
Depending on the size you get, you could have a tide going I think. Mine is a regular tank set up with canister filters. At first I thought maybe a river tank set up would work for yours, but after picturing it in my mind, I realized probably not, so I thought about the sub Fluvals. Of course, there are other brands too.

If you need more flow, there are nano power heads that can be used.
__________________
Jamie.... "The fingers of natural selection are hovering over the delete button."
AA community rules: http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ork&page=rules

AA ToS
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/misc.php?do=sknetwork&page=tos
DragonFish71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2013, 04:40 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
MJSerik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 389
You could also run a piece of glass or acrylic across and set stuff on that
__________________
MJSerik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2013, 07:26 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: loxahatchee fl
Posts: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by DragonFish71 View Post

Depending on the size you get, you could have a tide going I think. Mine is a regular tank set up with canister filters. At first I thought maybe a river tank set up would work for yours, but after picturing it in my mind, I realized probably not, so I thought about the sub Fluvals. Of course, there are other brands too.

If you need more flow, there are nano power heads that can be used.
What exactly is a canister filter
__________________
ms705jk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2013, 08:21 PM   #18
Great white snark
 
DragonFish71's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Longmont, Colorado
Posts: 6,563
It's a case that has an intake tube and and outflow tube with baskets of media that is outside of the tank. They're usually positioned under the tank, long hoses leading from the filter into the tank.

For the set-up you're thinking about, it wouldn't be ideal.
__________________
Jamie.... "The fingers of natural selection are hovering over the delete button."
AA community rules: http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ork&page=rules

AA ToS
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/misc.php?do=sknetwork&page=tos
DragonFish71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2013, 08:21 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: loxahatchee fl
Posts: 407
Without sitting down drawing for an hour and another hour putting together a livestock list I found these on the web. They are a good representation of what im thinking about. Just picture it 5x3x18" made of 1/4 glass sitting on top of metal frame wrapped with blonde plywood and case work. All the mechanical and electrical equipment inside the stand
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20131128_192101.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	66.0 KB
ID:	209771   Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20131128_192136.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	60.4 KB
ID:	209772  

__________________
ms705jk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2013, 09:06 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 713




here are a few pictures of my coffeetable aquarium. the pics are about 2 years old. the aquarium is now heavily planted and it's been great. i love it. very easy to work on with all the plant maintenance as it's only about 13" deep. fish love it because there's over 5' of forward swimming. it has a glass top that sits on risers so there's plenty of oxygen exchange. also 2 power heads, one at either end of the aquarium in the columns. they are filled with water. all electrical equipment is in one of the other columns which of course stays dry. the 4th column is also dry and can be used for food storage. the lights are tucked into the bars that cross the aquarium. there are toggle switches at the front of the aquarium that control the lights, heater and power heads. there's only one electrical cord running from the bottom of the tank. good luck on your build.
__________________

__________________
jpchin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY canister filter idea Reaper216 DIY Projects 5 10-27-2013 07:55 PM
Ultimate fish room idea SwimsWithFish Aquaria Off-Topic 17 11-19-2011 08:53 PM
I have no idea what this could be... 00youknowit00 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 11-17-2011 10:11 PM
small idea - help with filling test tubes nextgeneration40 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 10-25-2011 01:01 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.