Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-10-2014, 03:23 PM   #251
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
IShallNtEatFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 467
One lucky fish right there!
__________________

__________________
IShallNtEatFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 03:30 PM   #252
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwh0818 View Post
I'm gonna do it! 3 buckets. 1 with biomedia, 1 with Floss and the last for the return! I love DIY! I'll draw up some designs!
awesome! If it works I'm totally copying you!
__________________

__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 03:37 PM   #253
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jwh0818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harlingen, TX
Posts: 5,563
How would this work? Obviously bucket 3 is simple just a return pump but would this work?
Btw, the red lines are egg crate
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1394476636376.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	139.2 KB
ID:	227052  
__________________
Fluffy's History!
jwh0818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 03:47 PM   #254
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
Wouldn't you want bio media after coarse filtration(egg crate)? Will you be drilling the tank?
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 03:49 PM   #255
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jwh0818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harlingen, TX
Posts: 5,563
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brookster123 View Post
Wouldn't you want bio media after coarse filtration(egg crate)? Will you be drilling the tank?
Yes your right. I'll reverse it then I completely forgot. Nope I won't be drilling it, that's too much work! Just a siphon pulling the water out. I want about 1000gph to 2000gph for this!
__________________
Fluffy's History!
jwh0818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 03:55 PM   #256
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
What happens if the siphon breaks?!? Will there be any kind if emergency shut off? What about a ball float the an on/off switch ?? Like a toilet tank!
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 04:04 PM   #257
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jwh0818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harlingen, TX
Posts: 5,563
The siphon won't break! It's only a 3 ft drop to where it's gonna be. I've never used a ball float for a water pump. Got a link I can read up on it?
__________________
Fluffy's History!
jwh0818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 04:10 PM   #258
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwh0818 View Post
The siphon won't break! It's only a 3 ft drop to where it's gonna be. I've never used a ball float for a water pump. Got a link I can read up on it?
good po.into, you'll just have to manually restart the siphon whenever you do a wc? No link to my brain sorry.. If you're interested I'll think something up, it'd be way simple, basically a float that when it hit a certain level, either to high it low, would shut the pump off, as long as the siphon tube wasn't to low in tank it would kill the siphon too!
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 04:12 PM   #259
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jwh0818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harlingen, TX
Posts: 5,563
Think away bro! Can't have a house flooding with a baby on the way!
__________________
Fluffy's History!
jwh0818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 04:19 PM   #260
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jwh0818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harlingen, TX
Posts: 5,563
Would this work?

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B0064BHEVM

Not sure how I would wire it or to what
__________________

__________________
Fluffy's History!
jwh0818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to connect vertical 2x4 on horizontal 2x4 ? plecoking DIY Projects 16 05-26-2011 10:47 AM
Multi tier stand - 2x4 strength? Greeny DIY Projects 9 11-16-2009 10:17 AM
75/90 Gallon Stand 1x4 pine construction(no 2x4). snorkel DIY Projects 25 09-21-2009 02:41 PM
2X4 or 4X4 for 55 gal stand?? crazyderik DIY Projects 9 01-07-2008 10:14 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.