Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-14-2014, 01:55 PM   #301
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jwh0818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harlingen, TX
Posts: 5,563
Well since im drilling, ill drill a hole for the return but I think I should drill 2 for the over flow but another question, do I really NEED an overflow box? Or can I just use the bulk heads. Fluffy obviously isnt gonna fit in the holes
__________________

__________________
Fluffy's History!
jwh0818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 02:08 PM   #302
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
t4runnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 274
DIY- 75g 2x4 stand!

I would do 2 in case one of the drains gets clogged. Google bean animal overflow or herbie overflow. You could do your own version.

When I get home late tonight I will post pics of my setup. It's totally ghetto.
__________________

t4runnr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 02:11 PM   #303
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jwh0818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harlingen, TX
Posts: 5,563
Ghetto is the way to go! I like diy thats the main reason im doing this. Gives me a sense of accomplishment and pride for doing it my self and saves me a few dollars here and there.
__________________
Fluffy's History!
jwh0818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 02:24 PM   #304
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jwh0818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harlingen, TX
Posts: 5,563
So do I need need the overflow box or can I do without it?
__________________
Fluffy's History!
jwh0818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 02:39 PM   #305
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
t4runnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 274
It depends on how you setup the plumbing behind the tank.

I actually put in an overflow box in the tank to set the water level. Behind the glass is where it gets all ghetto. Behind the tank I used a plastic ice box from target and mounted it to the tank using the bulkheads. The bottom of the plastic has 3 smaller bulkhead each with its own line to my filter. One line is the full siphon with an inline valve. The second is my drip line and the 3rd is my regency in case either of the 2 gets clogged.

Its hard for me to explain. I will post photos tonight for you.
t4runnr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 02:42 PM   #306
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jwh0818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harlingen, TX
Posts: 5,563
Awesome thank you. Okay so the pump has a 3/4" head on it. Will it mess with the flow if I add a piece to make it 1 1/2"?
__________________
Fluffy's History!
jwh0818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 02:44 PM   #307
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwh0818 View Post
Awesome thank you. Okay so the pump has a 3/4" head on it. Will it mess with the flow if I add a piece to make it 1 1/2"?
why would you? I wouldn't add any uneccessary couplings.. It will most likely reduce flow.
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 02:51 PM   #308
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
t4runnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 274
It will slow down the velocity (feet per second) of the flow but your flow rate (gallons per hour) should remain the same. I can't remember my fluid mechanics stuff from college but I think that's the case.

In my case, I have. 3/4" outlet on my pump the splits up and ends up going through a pair of 1/2" PVC. Whether I have one plugged or not, the volume of water being moved seems to be the same.
t4runnr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 03:03 PM   #309
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jwh0818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harlingen, TX
Posts: 5,563
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brookster123 View Post
why would you? I wouldn't add any uneccessary couplings.. It will most likely reduce flow.
Quote:
Originally Posted by t4runnr View Post
It will slow down the velocity (feet per second) of the flow but your flow rate (gallons per hour) should remain the same. I can't remember my fluid mechanics stuff from college but I think that's the case.

In my case, I have. 3/4" outlet on my pump the splits up and ends up going through a pair of 1/2" PVC. Whether I have one plugged or not, the volume of water being moved seems to be the same.
I just figured that was a good question before I jump in this. Okay so for a 3/4" pipe I would need a 1" hole and for a 1 1/2" pipe I would need a 2" hole or what? Ive never drilled a tank so bare with me!
__________________
Fluffy's History!
jwh0818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 03:10 PM   #310
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
Yes, if you're going by inside pipe diameter than the hole will need to be bigger, I'm not positive but I think you get a rubber gasket that creates the glass to pipe seal, you may need to drill according to those sizes.
__________________

__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to connect vertical 2x4 on horizontal 2x4 ? plecoking DIY Projects 16 05-26-2011 10:47 AM
Multi tier stand - 2x4 strength? Greeny DIY Projects 9 11-16-2009 10:17 AM
75/90 Gallon Stand 1x4 pine construction(no 2x4). snorkel DIY Projects 25 09-21-2009 02:41 PM
2X4 or 4X4 for 55 gal stand?? crazyderik DIY Projects 9 01-07-2008 10:14 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.