Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-06-2003, 07:30 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Mankato MN
Posts: 863
Send a message via MSN to gooyferret Send a message via Yahoo to gooyferret
Hmm that must be for a very high voltage outlet, my float switch is rated at 200 volts. Which will accomidate all standard outlets and a switching rating of 20 watts. It can withstand a voltage of 250 watts.
__________________

__________________
" 'TAP TAP TAP'...Here fishy fishy fishy"
gooyferret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2003, 09:41 AM   #12
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
pretty heavy duty float switch, mind if we ask where you got it and what it cost? Not having to wire it to a relay makes it much simpler.
__________________

__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2003, 11:28 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Mankato MN
Posts: 863
Send a message via MSN to gooyferret Send a message via Yahoo to gooyferret
I purchased it on ebay actually.
__________________
" 'TAP TAP TAP'...Here fishy fishy fishy"
gooyferret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2003, 01:41 PM   #14
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
cool, are there any markings on it? brand name/model # etc so if someone wanted to buy one new (such as myself) they'd know what to look for? )
__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2003, 09:48 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Mankato MN
Posts: 863
Send a message via MSN to gooyferret Send a message via Yahoo to gooyferret
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...category=46313
__________________
" 'TAP TAP TAP'...Here fishy fishy fishy"
gooyferret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2003, 06:15 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Greenwood, SC
Posts: 1,089
Send a message via AIM to Electrobes
so wait lemme see if I understand this... you have a water pump in a bucket of water, the plug from the water pump is connected to the white extention cord, the white extension cord midway is attached to the float switch, and the the float switch reattaches to the white cord, where the white cord then plugs into the wall? the guys is still selling a lot of these realy cheap.. I am considering getting one for my 45 gallon tank, I have an extra rio 1400 laying around doing nothing!
__________________
Electrobes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2003, 03:57 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Greenwood, SC
Posts: 1,089
Send a message via AIM to Electrobes
Yo I am back again, I was wondering if I could do the same you did, but add a second float switch for the bucket, so should I be away and somehow the bucket runs out of water, the secondary float switch will cut off the motor (like a second switch), even if the first switch is tring to turn it on, all this to save the motor from drying killing itself. My question is.. a) will this idea work? and b) are float switches sumbersible? I thought it could be because if I use the same housing as did gooy, technically the actual float switch will be under water, but having the piping protect the wires... but what do you all think???
__________________
Electrobes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2003, 06:00 PM   #18
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
A) yes
b) by the looks of these switches, yes


put the second float switch for the bucket in line with the wire of the first float switch. In other words, as long as the bucket switch is closed, the tank switch will be able to operate normally. However, if the bucket switch is open (not enough water in bucket) then the wire from the tank switch will not turn on the pump.

if your not sure of what i'm describing let me know, i'll sketch something up.
__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2003, 06:03 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Greenwood, SC
Posts: 1,089
Send a message via AIM to Electrobes
Awesome thanks Billy! I understand just wondering if it was possible.. hehe DIY project here I come.. those swicthes on ebay are really cheap and heck not needing a relay helps too, so looks like I am gunna get 2
__________________
Electrobes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2003, 10:37 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Mankato MN
Posts: 863
Send a message via MSN to gooyferret Send a message via Yahoo to gooyferret
LOL i bought 4 of them! Yes i have actually thought of the pail idea also just havent got around to it although i need to considering i found my pump running without water in it.. im just glad the pump didnt go bad!
__________________

__________________
" 'TAP TAP TAP'...Here fishy fishy fishy"
gooyferret is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
auto, auto top off, diy

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY auto top-off system Scoot DIY Projects 1 03-28-2007 05:57 PM
DIY Auto Top-Off System by Leoslizards leoslizards DIY Projects 3 02-19-2007 04:50 AM
DIY Auto Top-Off sedonawrx DIY Projects 2 01-10-2007 10:22 PM
DIY Auto Top Off - schematic and pictures Kam DIY Projects 3 09-13-2005 03:29 PM
DIY auto top off EricB DIY Projects 10 09-30-2003 05:10 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.