Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-02-2003, 02:47 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Mankato MN
Posts: 863
Send a message via MSN to gooyferret Send a message via Yahoo to gooyferret
DIY auto top off

Well i recieved my float switches and have made a couple of auto top offs. I was gettting sick of adding water all the time so i broke down and made them. Ill get some picks on here shortly. If anyone has any questions how to make them let me know im always willing to help out.
__________________

__________________
" 'TAP TAP TAP'...Here fishy fishy fishy"
gooyferret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2003, 02:51 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 135
Send a message via MSN to Michel
Would love to see pictures and or plans since I will be getting my RO/DI in one week and want to do like you so please keep me posted
Thanks
__________________

__________________
Michel
Michel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2003, 02:53 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Mankato MN
Posts: 863
Send a message via MSN to gooyferret Send a message via Yahoo to gooyferret
Michel, not a problem just need to get some pics off my other comp im on my laptop now. Ill get them on here ASAP for ya! Toodles.
__________________
" 'TAP TAP TAP'...Here fishy fishy fishy"
gooyferret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2003, 06:45 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Mankato MN
Posts: 863
Send a message via MSN to gooyferret Send a message via Yahoo to gooyferret
OK heres the pics of the auto-top off sorry about the wait.
__________________
" 'TAP TAP TAP'...Here fishy fishy fishy"
gooyferret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2003, 06:46 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Mankato MN
Posts: 863
Send a message via MSN to gooyferret Send a message via Yahoo to gooyferret
Wiring float switch, complete wires and cpvc for bracing float.
__________________
" 'TAP TAP TAP'...Here fishy fishy fishy"
gooyferret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2003, 07:08 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,227
hehe - great idea patching into the extension cord like that
__________________
justDIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2003, 07:11 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Mankato MN
Posts: 863
Send a message via MSN to gooyferret Send a message via Yahoo to gooyferret
Hmm thats the only way i could get it to work. Is there another way?
__________________
" 'TAP TAP TAP'...Here fishy fishy fishy"
gooyferret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2003, 07:12 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,227
oh, the other thing to watch for is make sure there is an air break between your top-off hose and the water in the sump, so that tank/sump water cannot get drawn back into the resivor once the pump shuts off.
__________________
justDIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2003, 07:19 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Mankato MN
Posts: 863
Send a message via MSN to gooyferret Send a message via Yahoo to gooyferret
LOL the pic is kinda decieving the pipe actually doesnt go much past the lid of the sump so i dont have a syphon effect. Already got that covered!
__________________
" 'TAP TAP TAP'...Here fishy fishy fishy"
gooyferret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2003, 07:26 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,227
Quote:
Originally Posted by gooyferret
Hmm thats the only way i could get it to work. Is there another way?
Ideally, you would want the float switch to operate a relay, and the relay would turn pump(s) on or off

your way is prefect for operating a small pump like that maxijet

example:

lets say you setup a float switch for a low water level, to shut off a main system pump. If you're running a big tank, that pump will draw a lot of energy, more than the switch may be able to safely handle. So instead, the switch is connected to a relay and a battery, and the relay switches the high power pump on and off according to what the float switch is reading.
__________________

__________________
justDIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
auto, auto top off, diy

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY auto top-off system Scoot DIY Projects 1 03-28-2007 05:57 PM
DIY Auto Top-Off System by Leoslizards leoslizards DIY Projects 3 02-19-2007 04:50 AM
DIY Auto Top-Off sedonawrx DIY Projects 2 01-10-2007 10:22 PM
DIY Auto Top Off - schematic and pictures Kam DIY Projects 3 09-13-2005 03:29 PM
DIY auto top off EricB DIY Projects 10 09-30-2003 05:10 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.