Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-15-2011, 09:02 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
Wouldn't it be on all the time? making the waste water continously run and ruin my filters on it?
__________________

scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 09:04 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
If I could do that, why not just run the RO/DI to the sump directly on the float valve.

But that'd be a lot of tubing in the way. I think I'm good the way it is.
__________________

scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 09:10 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
no it would only be on when the float switch was open allowign flow to go through. you coulf put a T fitting on and a valve to branch off then you need to use RO/DI to mix up water also
__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 09:13 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gti_Leo View Post
no it would only be on when the float switch was open allowign flow to go through. you coulf put a T fitting on and a valve to branch off then you need to use RO/DI to mix up water also
Yeah but what about the waste line from the RO/DI unit?
scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 11:16 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
bring it to a drain pipe near by or just bring a line to your aquarium from your RO unit
__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 10:56 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
The water in my return compartment seems to be fluctuating making my auto-topoff run unpredictably.

Anyone experience this before?
It seems to have happened after I installed a hofer gurgle buster
scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 03:36 AM   #27
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
Anyone looking to use a float valve connected to a reservoir might experience what I had happen to me yesterday. Somehow the opening of the float valve got under water and it created a siphon.

So I added a quick connect tee fitting to draw in air if this happens again. Should solve the problem.

__________________

scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
auto, diy

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.