Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-28-2003, 05:22 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Greenwood, SC
Posts: 1,089
Send a message via AIM to Electrobes
Does anyone know if I can use stainless steel in an aquarium.. Its to clamp the tube on the Rio 1400. I hear they make plastic clamps but have yet to actually find them. Thanks everyone!
__________________

__________________
Electrobes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2003, 11:43 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,227
Stainless steel should do nicely in a f/w aquarium ... I just use plain steel hose clamps on my various contraptions - a little rust never hurt anything

besides, steel rusts as FeO2 (?), and which is iron oxide ... plants love iron!
__________________

__________________
justDIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2003, 05:58 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Greenwood, SC
Posts: 1,089
Send a message via AIM to Electrobes
hmm... how about in an oscar tank?
__________________
Electrobes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2003, 11:23 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,227
what about oscars?

just make sure the hose clamp has the extra "clamp" part that comes out as you tighten it positioned behind the hose, so the fish can't easily run into it

Oh, and about the rust, I guess steel rusts as Fe+++, which isn't much help for aquatic plants
__________________
justDIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2003, 05:39 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Greenwood, SC
Posts: 1,089
Send a message via AIM to Electrobes
even stainless steel?? the good part is that in this tank there will be no plants because Oscars will just mess it up pretty well so I am relying on driftwood pieces (pretty large).
__________________
Electrobes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2003, 12:24 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,227
no, stainless "steel" won't rust out iron, as it has no iron in it (well, true stainless has no iron)

there is junk called "magnetic" stainless steel that contains less iron than true steel, but it will still rust / corrode given enough abuse

a hardware store should have the plastic kind (called "low pressure" hose clamps), that snap around the hose and then you squeeze 'em to tighten
__________________
justDIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2003, 06:46 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 607
FYI, air are been pump into the canister by the head (pic 025F.jpg) as this is my chemical filter.

Also the water are been filter by my internal canister filter 1st so the less sump will accumulate in the external canister as i prefer (its easier) to clean internal canister filter which is my mechanical filter.

Those whom with bigger tank can connect more canister in serially using some simple pvc pipe.
__________________
vega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2003, 06:54 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 607
I wont recommend using steel as you cant see the internal of the filter which will be a problem during maintainance.

Also steel will cost more which the money can use to buy 2nd or 3rd canister to be connect serially (regardless the sizes of tank, the more filter canister is the better the water quality will be as more bacteria can be cultured also it increase the tank water volume)
__________________
vega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2003, 12:43 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,227
what's steel?

was only talking about hose clamps, to keep hose from coming off filter
__________________
justDIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2003, 03:10 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 607
Opsss!!! Wasnt paying too much atention reading...
__________________

__________________
vega is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
canister, canister filter, diy, diy canister filter, filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
diy canister filter? baffle DIY Projects 6 01-29-2010 07:37 PM
DIY Canister Filter Somethings Fishy DIY Projects 2 09-20-2009 02:27 AM
DIY canister filter for nano blasterx DIY Projects 26 05-26-2009 10:22 PM
Diy Canister Filter krap101 DIY Projects 20 04-01-2009 03:11 AM
DIY CO2 and canister filter... MyCatsDrool Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 02-14-2007 04:07 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.