DIY Canopy

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dhemp34

Aquarium Advice Freak
i've been trying to get some basic measurements for my 125 canopy. I'm a novice builder and the one i've built i have used all the wrong woods. If you could what type of wood did you use and what measurement did you use in your build? If you have any rough draft blue prints i'd love to take a look to see how i can rebuild and restructure my original build. Heck i'd pay for your plans thats how much i like the canopy.:n00b:

Best bet would be to go with a stud grade 2x4 for the frame. Depending on your skill level only use a veneer of "good wood".

One bit of advice I would make (from when I did carpentry work) would be to get a good waterproof poly-u or other type of water sealer for the underneath and make sure it is dried outside before putting it on your tank. This makes sure the wood has been sealed as well as the sealer not leeching out chemicals.

One thing you DO NOT want to use is pressure treated lumber. The type of stuff you would use to build a deck. There are a ton of nasty chemicals in them that you do not want inside your house, let alone in close proximity to your tank.

Stud grade 2 x 4? That seems a bit more than you need and could really make that thing heavy as a son-of-a-gun... The one time I built a panel over frame style canopy, I used furring strips which are roughly 1 x 2 and I swore that I would never do that again!

I understand the desire to overbuild stuff for the sake of durability, but they really just need to be a box with some form of decorative/finishing trim...

A canopy can be as simple as a plain box, or as fancy as you can make it.

Wood to use:
Solid hardwood is the best, but will be pricey & you will need a fair amount of woodworking skills to get good results. <Or you pay $$$ for pre-dressed hardwood.>