Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 02-07-2012, 05:43 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist

Diy co2

Hi guys new the forum and also pretty new to aquariums i was recently given a 44 gal fish tank from a friend and decided i wanted to do a fully planted tank so ive built the stand put it all together and decided id also like to build a co2 unit being a plumber i have access to all sorts of materials any suggestions? also on any other diy projects i can build for the tank?? Any suggestions would be greatly apreciated

Old 02-07-2012, 02:56 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Hi there, welcome to the site. As far as starting your new aquarium I would recommend you read up on fishless cycling, which is a must before putting fish in a tank. Now a 44 gal is a good size to start with, but you will find a wide variety of results with DIY CO2 for tanks that size. Usually above 29 gal people in the hobby prefer compressed CO2, again that is up for debate, but just an issue to point out.

Other DIY proyects, do you have a hood and lights setup? You can always do that, guessing you will start with fresh water, so a sump is not really necesary, but since you have the skills you might attempt it for a future saltwater endevour. Ever heard of open bottom tanks? Look up my thread on setting one up, they might pick your fancy.

Youtube Channel: http://youtu.be/sj0bVYblrZI
andresdeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 06:30 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist