DIY CO2 question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

swanandmokashi

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I am in process of setting up my 29 gallon FW.
I would like to do DIY C02 as I am planning to make it a planted tank.
I think I understand how it is done.

My question is where do you put the tube that carries the CO2 in the tank. I don't have a air pump and don't want one.
The filter I am using is Emperor 280 HOB.

TIA

I'm a planted newb so someone else might have better advice. But you want the CO2 to come out in as small a bubble as possible so it will get absorbed into the water rather than float to the surface and be released into the air. I think they're called diffusers (?) and you can probably do a search for a DIY one of those as well. What I did was used a small air-stone placed inside the intake for my whisper HOB filter. The air-stone introduced small bubbles that were then mashed to tiny bubbles in the filter's impeller. I know thats not the best, but I didn't have a highly planted tank either.

Check out the following link. It's great.

http://www.qsl.net/w2wdx/aquaria/diyco2.html

I am totally new to C02-ing. Thus far all my lazy...aspidistra...could be bothered with is a two liter bottle with a fermenting C02 mixture and a tube siliconed into the two liter's lid. The tube affixed into the lid is a few inches above the fermenting mixture. From there the tube runs directly into my hang-on-back filter. An airstone that makes pretty fine bubbles is attached to the other end of the tube that's in the filter box.

I remove and and check the airstone every couplefew days to make sure it is not clogged. Also, white gunk accumulates around the airstone every few days...I clean this off with hot water.