Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-09-2011, 03:38 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist

Diy corner overflow

Hi this is my first time posting on any forum ever. After months of reading them.
I am going to be starting a 75 or 90 gallon reef tank. I would rather it have drilled overflows in the bottom of the tank. My question is that I may be able to get a tank cheaper with it being drilled. But I plan on drilling it myself. What I need to know is, if anyone knows where you can purchase the piece of plastic for the overflow or if anyone has tried to make one. Thanks

Old 08-09-2011, 03:57 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

You can buy acrylic and make it out of that, or you can just buy one pre made which I think would be easiest.

Old 08-09-2011, 09:16 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist

I am sure it wouldn't be that hard to make one, I just don't have a proper saw cut the acrylic. Do you know specifically anywhere I can order one online I have asked at my lfs and all I have gotten was " google it" But I have yet to find one designed to be used with the holes on the bottom of the tank.
Old 08-10-2011, 08:35 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by E-rock
I am sure it wouldn't be that hard to make one, I just don't have a proper saw cut the acrylic. Do you know specifically anywhere I can order one online I have asked at my lfs and all I have gotten was " google it" But I have yet to find one designed to be used with the holes on the bottom of the tank.
For cutting the acrylic we just used a fine toothed round saw, cut like butter
But u need to find a way to drill the holes in the tank, that part is trickier and should prolly be left to the pros
Unicorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 12:37 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak