DIY Fishfood: please advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ckarta

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi,
I am a newbie on this site, and sorry if posted this in the wrong spot.

I have read much on this matter on the internet before posting this.

first i have made fish food from chicken lungs and beef heart also, with some veg matter in both. now i read it is not good to feed higher animal flesh to fish. in a few articles i have read that good quality fish food does not have fish meal in the contents. what can I do then?

i came with a recipe but it seems to supply only about 35% protein.

soybean floor 1 cup
1 egg
spinach and carrot: 1 cup cooked paste.

i will cook this on a pan without oil and then freeze it. The egg holds everything together as per my experience, so no need of Gelatin.

making this food for neon tetras, and bettas if possible who are big time choosy (they generally do not eat anything other than guppy fry...)

can I use fish meal or not advisable?
cant use lotta blood worms or shrimps, dont have that much money.
can add chicken, mutton, beef beefheart if advisable.

Thanks a lot!

Moderators, please move this thread if it is in the wrong spot.

I would not advise chicken or mutton. Generally you want something that is as close as possible to a complete diet, so pure muscle tissue (meat) isn't really it. Heart muscle is better, as you noted, and liver also has a lot of good things in it as a staple.

If you're willing to catch them, insect meal is probably the best thing. Really any insect you can catch will do fine, just chop it up and mix it in. That way you get a good mix of everything.

Really I think the recipe you described is probably fine. I don't know of anything wrong with fishmeal, but there might be.