Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 06-10-2012, 03:59 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak

DIY plants for a fraction of the cost

all my raw materials, i pick up plants at michaels, make sure to choose the plastic ones.
then what i do is cut out all the wire at the bottomof the plant, and what i am left with is many different lengths of plants that i can mix and match. I've been making them this way for about 20 years, so i figured i would share. After the finished product, i soak them in a bucket for a week as a final test, then it's off to the DT.

add gravel to bottom of water bottle, it's just for weight

add your silicone (aquarium safe)

top it off with your current substrate, i have sand in my tanks so i use that

here is my final product, i just finished this batch so i'm waiting 48 hrs to dry, then they go in bucket and soak for 7 days. if water is clear, off they go into the tank.

Old 06-11-2012, 05:30 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist

Wow never thought of this might try it

Old 06-11-2012, 10:43 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak

just remember, NO WIRE.
if you get a plant with a wire, just cut it where the plastic seems firm, there is usually a little bulge, this is where the wire meets the plastic, quick snip and your done.

wire usually is at thebase of the plant, snip it then take all the branches off where the wire is located, you can use all those filler branches for any gaps you might have
Old 06-13-2012, 11:20 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak

then i put my plants in my QT for a few days to soak, there is no water discoloration so we are good to go, next they get added to DT.

Old 06-13-2012, 12:26 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict

I love these! Very pretty and I will have to try this. I'm always looking for good diy projects for my tank
Thanks!