Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 10-06-2006, 02:07 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

DIY plywood only stand - questions

I've searched hither and yon and it looks like nearly everyone builds their stand out of dimensional lumber. I'm an amateur woodworker, having built my fair share of mission style furniture.

I know very well how strong plywood is, thus I'd like to build a stand strictly out of plywood for a 90g tank.

I'm looking for either interior pictures of a stand you've built using just plywood or pictures of the interior of commercial made stand.

So far, the only things I know for sure is that I'm going to use cabinet grade 3/4" plywood, I'll use pocket screws (and glue) to hold the whole mess together, I'll double up plywood on the bottom few inches to provide a support for the floor of the cabinet/stand, I'll run a strip of plywood (about 3" wide) between the middle of the front and back to prevent bowing of the stand while it's unloaded, and I'm going to trim at least the bottom with built up moulding.

I'll most likely use european hinges, since I want the hinges concealed. I haven't decided whether I'll use solid wood strips to conceal the ends of the plywood or if I'll trim it with mouding or use veneer tape.

I'm 99 and 44/100ths percent sure the aquarium should rest on the cabinet walls, this will let me trim out the top to cover the bottom frame of the aquarium - can someone confirm this?

Hopefully someone out there has done this already and can point me to some gotchas to avoid.

Thanks in advance!

Old 10-06-2006, 02:27 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist

For a glass aquarium, all of the weight is supported by the bottom trim of the tank, so and open bottom cabinet will be fine.