DIY Protein Skimmer????

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Punkroc701

Aquarium Advice Activist
So I am new to the whole salt water aquarium thing and I am building my own as much as possible (I like to build stuff :cool:) and I found these plans for a DIY Protein Skimmer Reef Workshop - DIY Protien Skimmer. For the most part the construction is self explanitory of the main skimmer, but I am not familiar with what he means by a High(er) pressure pump is. As well as where, or how to hook it to this thing when I am finished. I am only building a 26 gallon aquarium so I am thinking this is way more then I need for this build (a larger aquarium may follow this one if all goes well with it). Do you think this is to much for a 26 gallon, or should I go one Ebay or a LFS to get a $50 one? Any help is welcome.

Chris

So you do weekly water changes on salt tanks? Like I said I'm still new, have only had freashwater tanks. Thanks again.

Yup, water changes are basically the same as freshwater, you just need the salt. Temp. match the water in a bucket or rubbermaid container and mix salt up in that container with a powerhead for an hour or two, and you are good to go. Add freshwater when the water level gets low from evaporation. Once you get started, you'll get the hang of it fast.

Ok I thought you ment complete change the water completely. Adding water I understand. So am I right in saying when you get the salt added all you do is add water with evaporation and the only time you have to add salt again is if the density checker says the salt is low? Is that right?

Err...no, when water evaporates, you need to replace it with freshwater, each week, you need to take water out of the tank, and replace it with temp. and SG matched water.