Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-07-2010, 07:36 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsoong View Post
That would mean your frame is loose or bowed (loose joint, crooked wood?) & the tank is structurally straightening it.

5-7 coats of polyurathane will do the trick as well. <That is what I have on my stand.>

Yes, it is a joy to do wood working with good tool .... but you can do good work with basic hand tools. <Takes a lot more time & skill.> you can do a lot with just a router. The trick is to build jigs to guide the router in all the cuts, and take shallow cuts with good quality bits. The most important wood working "tool" is actually a good sturdy table or other surface to work on, and lots of clamps to hold down your work & jigs.
I ended up rebuilding the frame. I also didn't like it at all. It's now all square and good, and the tank fits in just right, not too tight, not too loose. I don't know why, but I have a weird "cheap" mentality when I'm working with cheap materials. For example, the wood to build the frame was $1.37. The acrylic for the tank was $30. So I spent about a day and a half on the acrylic, and half a day on the frame. So, I slowed down and built the frame right this time.

I'm also going to use polyurethane on the frame. I knew, in my mind, that I had to seal it, I was just hoping someone would tell me otherwise... .

And I thought I had a router at home (I'm in college) but apparently my dad broke it. I wasn't too happy... I do have nice bits, and was planning on using them, but of course I couldn't. Also, apparently we don't have one level surface in my house (besides the kitchen counter.) Also makes me angry...

Whenever I eventually build my house, I'm going to have a nice workshop for woodworking, metalworking, and just about any other working you can think of. Maybe I'll make a garage with a basement... garage for workin on the cars, basement for fabricating everything else. Wow I'm off topic.

Anyway, thanks for the support.

Here's a pic of the mini "sump" that fits in the back. (most of everything here is mocked in, so the fit is a little off)


EDIT: Forgot the pic.
__________________

__________________
corrado33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 10:39 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Viper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 628
That is some nice ingenuity there. Looking nice so far!
__________________

__________________
Viper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 08:17 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 478
Hey guys, just thought I'd give you an update. I'm done building for now, and I'm sealing and painting the wood. I should have pics up.... probably tomorrow if everything goes well.

I really like this smiley ->
__________________
corrado33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 08:43 PM   #14
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
cant wait! looks like its going to be a very nice tank from what i've seen so far
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 11:55 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 478
Eh... scratch the pics tomorrow. The polyurethane I'm using has a 4 hour turnover time. Annoying, but I generally follow directions on the cans for recoating times. So, even with the best of times, it'll probably take me to the day after tomorrow.
__________________
corrado33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2010, 12:28 PM   #16
AA Team Emeritus
 
jsoong's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 4,222
Very nice job!! Don't forget to post a finished pic!
__________________
80 gal FW with 30 gal DIY wet/dry/sump.
9 fancy golds, 1 hillstream loaches, 1 rubber-lip pleco (C. thomasi), 3 SAEs, small school of white cloud minnows, planted.
jsoong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2010, 12:57 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ilostnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Under ziggys bed..
Posts: 1,365
how exactly is the sump going to work? like how are you dividing it?
__________________
ilostnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2010, 02:42 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilostnemo View Post
how exactly is the sump going to work? like how are you dividing it?
I'm using the "sump" simply as a counterweight, and volume extension. It simply holds water because as we know, more water in a tank is always better. And it hides the pump and heater. It's not going to act as a refuge or mechanical or chemical filter at all.

EDIT: The "pump" I'm using is the sponge filter that came with the betta tank I had bought. I simply attach some tubing to the output, and I have myself a pump. I've successfully used this to pump water through my DIY water distiller, so I know this will work.
__________________
corrado33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2010, 02:53 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ilostnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Under ziggys bed..
Posts: 1,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by corrado33 View Post
I'm using the "sump" simply as a counterweight, and volume extension. It simply holds water because as we know, more water in a tank is always better. And it hides the pump and heater. It's not going to act as a refuge or mechanical or chemical filter at all.

EDIT: The "pump" I'm using is the sponge filter that came with the betta tank I had bought. I simply attach some tubing to the output, and I have myself a pump. I've successfully used this to pump water through my DIY water distiller, so I know this will work.
alright i get it now, its a good idea. just make sure to some how have a divider so your fish dont go into it lol
__________________
ilostnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2010, 03:27 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilostnemo View Post
alright i get it now, its a good idea. just make sure to some how have a divider so your fish dont go into it lol
Ah I gotcha! Yeah I'm probably going to use a custom made overflow, or I'll simply drill the tank. Then put some mesh or somethin in front of the hole or in the intake of the overflow.
__________________

__________________
corrado33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
acrylic, diy, fluval, fluval edge, stand, tan, val

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First attempt diy need advice: 72 gall aquarium stand oneball DIY Projects 49 08-31-2009 05:47 AM
Fluval edge aquarium? Mystery Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 07-23-2009 01:37 AM
DIY Aquarium stand for 75 gallon. Reefer27 DIY Projects 13 03-04-2009 06:47 PM
DIY Aquarium? Acrylic supplies vendor? Raker333 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 02-05-2006 05:23 PM
DIY AQUARIUM STAND panther1505 DIY Projects 3 06-01-2004 10:03 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.