Diy tank AND sump!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

needmorecowbell

Aquarium Advice Addict
M going to make a custom tank that will act as a sump for the bottom of my 30 gallon reef tank. Im gonna need all the help I can get because, quite honestly, I'm really new at this. I have made one 10 gallon sump before and hated it because o made it way to complex and the plumbing sucked.
That being said, I was thinking I would do acrylic for this because I can't find 1/4 inch glass anywhere. I already have aquarium silicone and an overflow. I have some plumbing from my old sump but I would rather have flexible hose so I can't screw something up lol.I'll post a pic of it below. Its going to be about 10- 15 gallons and have a Refugium, skimmer, and a place for my other small equipment. I'd like to put a ato in it at some point but not right now.
I hope this will help some people with their diy project because it will sure help me. Thanks! :)

Sorry, forgot the pic of my old plumbing. I cut it in half with a hacksaw for storage purposes and I will just need a union valve ( I think?) to put it back together.

Attachments

• image-3609088417.jpg
    image-3609088417.jpg
    29.6 KB · Views: 212
What about using a 15g tank to start instead since that'll save a decent bit of money over buying and cutting glass/acrylic

In that case id go with acylic since its easier to cut and drill..that was my plan until I found a already made 20L

I'll do acrylic then. Will I need weldon for it? I was hoping aquarium grade silicone sealant because that's what I have lol.. I dont want this to be really costly because I could just get it made by a lfs then.

Unfortunately no silicone won't bond to acrylic correctly you'll have to use weldon but it isn't to expensive..the acrylic is where all your money is gonna be at