Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-01-2009, 12:58 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 625
Send a message via AIM to match55 Send a message via MSN to match55 Send a message via Yahoo to match55
DIY wavebox?

I have been doing some research on wavemaker/wavebox, as everyone knows that they are $$$$, so I was looking around the DIY project.

the diy wavebox looks good while I have some extra pump, but!!
but... keep turning on and off the pump doesn't sound like a good way to treat it, is there anyway that I don't have to turn the pump on and off.

I am thinking to have a pump suck water into a seperated box and release it about every 2~5 sec, but with my limited knowlegde, I have no idea how can I do this.

something auto on/off one side of the box to release the water.
instead of on/off the pump.

is that doable??
and I would love some advice and suggestion on how should I do this.
__________________

__________________
Thanks to AMD, HN1, Zero, partypalooza, thincat, and thominil who helped me in almost every questions. Thanks everyone!!!!!
46gal Reef
match55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 01:04 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
partypalooza5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to partypalooza5 Send a message via Yahoo to partypalooza5
I think you can make a "surge" device with the use of a siphon. Something like a container above the tank that fills up to a certain point and then a siphon releases it all into the tank.
__________________

__________________
75G FOWLR Build

partypalooza5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 01:26 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 625
Send a message via AIM to match55 Send a message via MSN to match55 Send a message via Yahoo to match55
Quote:
Originally Posted by partypalooza5 View Post
I think you can make a "surge" device with the use of a siphon. Something like a container above the tank that fills up to a certain point and then a siphon releases it all into the tank.
the surge sevice is great but don't think it will fit my tank right now, but thanks for the info ^^
__________________
Thanks to AMD, HN1, Zero, partypalooza, thincat, and thominil who helped me in almost every questions. Thanks everyone!!!!!
46gal Reef
match55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 01:32 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
partypalooza5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to partypalooza5 Send a message via Yahoo to partypalooza5
So your looking for an internal device? If you don't mind spending a little money, I think you can hook up a power head to a cheap wave timer and have it push water into the box then turn off and let it out.
__________________
75G FOWLR Build

partypalooza5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 01:42 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 625
Send a message via AIM to match55 Send a message via MSN to match55 Send a message via Yahoo to match55
Quote:
Originally Posted by partypalooza5 View Post
So your looking for an internal device? If you don't mind spending a little money, I think you can hook up a power head to a cheap wave timer and have it push water into the box then turn off and let it out.
I have couple extra powerhead, just that keep turning on and off will burn the powerhead, right?
__________________
Thanks to AMD, HN1, Zero, partypalooza, thincat, and thominil who helped me in almost every questions. Thanks everyone!!!!!
46gal Reef
match55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 01:44 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
partypalooza5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to partypalooza5 Send a message via Yahoo to partypalooza5
Nah, if I understand correctly any power head can be plugged into a wave maker and it will work fine. However I understand the start up "chatter" can get annoying, (since it turns on and off)
__________________
75G FOWLR Build

partypalooza5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 05:24 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
GhostKnife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: columbus, ohio
Posts: 703
Not just any powerhead can be plugged into a wavemaker. Most maxi jets are fine with the majority of WM but korallias are finicky and will make an terrible noise when being turned on repeatedly throughout the day. They will eventually fail. Korallia makes powerheads that are for THEIR wavemaker I know. I am not sure however if they work with other wavemakers. Maxi jets seem to be the all round PH of choice for this situation.
__________________
Have You Voted For AA Today?
GhostKnife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 05:33 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 625
Send a message via AIM to match55 Send a message via MSN to match55 Send a message via Yahoo to match55
I gave up on the wavebox and wave maker, instead
I use my return line and my hydra2 powerhead to create a small wave.
still adjusting and will see how it goes tmr.
__________________
Thanks to AMD, HN1, Zero, partypalooza, thincat, and thominil who helped me in almost every questions. Thanks everyone!!!!!
46gal Reef
match55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 02:21 PM   #9
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,242
Moved to the DIY forum.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 08:11 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
I use a Wavemaster Pro and some Koralia2 PH's. To cut down on startup slap and chatter I cut a piece of air tubing 1/16th of an inch shorter then the distants from the front of the casing to the propeller and slipped it on the shaft. This toally corrects the slap and noise problem with the Koralia pumps. The setup has been going since May of this year with no problems or pump failures. The Koralias are now very quite.
__________________

__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
diy, wavebox

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY 50G Tank Restoration & DIY Stand Giannis86 DIY Projects 28 11-01-2009 11:39 AM
Tunze Wavebox weekf Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 09-07-2006 11:59 PM
DIY Background Tile Weight Question NOT A DIY PROJECT jThessin General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 11-01-2005 10:35 AM
tunze wavebox scuba_steve Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 12-19-2004 12:12 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.