Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 08-19-2013, 11:52 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
Drip system

I bought this auto topper (SpectraPure Ultra-Precise Auto Top Off) SpectraPure Ultra-Precise Auto Top Off - Bulk Reef Supply a little while back to do just that, top off evaporation every day. Well, I started thinking, this thing could probably pull up 12 gallons a day if could drip drain somehow from somewhere else on the tank (I have no experience in these drip systems)? Right?

Well, I'm looking through gardening supplies and I see this device that allows 1/2 gallon an hour Amazon.com : Rain Bird SW05-10PK Landscape Dripline System 0.5 (1/2) GPH Emitters 10-Pack : Automatic Lawn Watering Equipment Accessories : Patio, Lawn & Garden

Well, basic math tells me this thing will pull 12 gallons a day. My question is, I don't really know how to power the draining device, or if I need to buy another pump (which I'd like to not buy as I'd like to drain from the show tank and fill from the sump below, thus I can hide a small 1/4" tube being gravity fed in the tank). I planned on buying 1/4 inch tubing from the garden supply people as well and doing a straight gravity siphon (no pump at all) from this tube straight down through my floor and into the basement. Is this possible to start a siphon on this and reliably have it drain using gravity alone?

Is this setup actually possible to do this way?