Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-12-2012, 06:03 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rebelyeller89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wilkesboro, NC
Posts: 324
Dumb question about connecting two tanks

Ok, I have my 5 gallon that is going to be a pico reef here in a bit. Then I had a brain storm to do a build with an empty 10 gallon I found. Is there a way to connect the two, without drilling, so that it's two tanks with a shared water capacity of 15 gallons?
__________________

__________________
rebelyeller89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 06:25 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
xtra51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 291
This would require much work without draining. I would guess you would put an over flow on the 5 gallon and then have a pump in the 10 pumping it back up to the five.
__________________

__________________
If the information is good, thank the one giving it
xtra51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 08:12 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rebelyeller89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wilkesboro, NC
Posts: 324
Yeah, I guess that is what you would do. I just thought it would be cool.
How would one go about doing an overflow?
__________________
rebelyeller89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 09:18 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rebelyeller89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wilkesboro, NC
Posts: 324
Ok, I've been doing some searching, and I found this
http://www.drsfostersmith.com/produc...m?pcatid=18358
Would this work with a side by side set up, or would I need to raise one of the tanks?
Basically, would the siphon be enough to force the water up over the side of the other tank?
__________________
rebelyeller89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 10:10 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Gpsdrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: San Antonio Tx
Posts: 43
The source of the siphon (where water is being sucked in) needs to higher than the end where water comes out. If the 10 gallon is substantially taller than the 5 than it may work if you put the overflow box on the 10 but the siphon would be weak if it doesn't go down far enough and it could stop. Then the pump would just drain the tank onto your floor. You could raise it and it would definately work but if you don't want to do that you will just need a pump in both tanks.
__________________
Gpsdrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 10:16 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rebelyeller89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wilkesboro, NC
Posts: 324
That's what I was thinking, just wanted someone to confirm it. I don't want to do the whole double pump thing cause there's too much risk of one failing.
I'm kinda getting the feeling that it's more work than its worth. Now that I've got the idea for the overflow box, I may just use the ten for a sump and turn my 20 gallon salty
__________________
rebelyeller89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 10:26 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
xtra51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 291
That eshops is way to big for this setup, you would have to get a mini overflow or something. one tanks needs to be lower than the other for this to work. I really advise you to drill these tanks.
__________________
If the information is good, thank the one giving it
xtra51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 10:33 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rebelyeller89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wilkesboro, NC
Posts: 324
Yeah I'm not gonna try it with these two.
__________________
rebelyeller89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 11:39 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
xtra51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by rebelyeller89 View Post
Yeah I'm not gonna try it with these two.
Sounds good! Sorry it didn't work out
__________________

__________________
If the information is good, thank the one giving it
xtra51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
which tanks need Excel? James_in_MN Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 03-14-2012 09:46 AM
Easy question on lighting fixture/watts per gallon mozcheez Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 20 03-14-2012 01:19 AM
black convict question pookie71384 Cichlid Discussion 6 03-13-2012 05:46 PM
55 Gallon Tank: Two 150 Watt or Two 200 Watt Heaters kc27 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 03-13-2012 02:57 AM
silly question Lunchbox209 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 03-12-2012 11:34 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.