Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-07-2011, 05:34 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
ChelseaLake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 181
Don't most commercial water conditioners neutralize heavy metals, as well as chlorine and chloramine?
__________________

__________________
55g Goldfish tank: Mai, Pei, Suu <3 (my babies)
29g Tropical Community
10g cycling
ChelseaLake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 10:03 PM   #12
AA Team Emeritus
 
jsoong's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 4,222
I think BigJim is worried about algaecide & mildewcide that maybe incorporated into an ordinary garden hose. Leaching of that might kill your biofilter. I do use an RV (portable water) hose for my fish tank.
__________________

__________________
80 gal FW with 30 gal DIY wet/dry/sump.
9 fancy golds, 1 hillstream loaches, 1 rubber-lip pleco (C. thomasi), 3 SAEs, small school of white cloud minnows, planted.
jsoong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 04:48 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Welshy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: UK - Wales
Posts: 245
Do you guys just fill your aquarium and then add th conditioner? I was always lead to believe that you had to neutralise the water before putting it in to the aquarium?
__________________
Welshy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 07:22 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 367
Yes welsh you do have to purify it before. What I think their saying is that they pump it into a bucket near the tank and that they purify and heat. Or they have a ro system

from, Adam
__________________
Fishfan321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 07:42 AM   #15
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,070
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishfan321 View Post
Yes welsh you do have to purify it before. What I think their saying is that they pump it into a bucket near the tank and that they purify and heat. Or they have a ro system

from, Adam
Not quite... When using a python to fill you tank you have to dose the ENTIRE volume of the tank (regardless of how much water you are replacing, 10g, 20g, etc). There is no need to wait for it to degas or anything like that. Just match the temperature, dose your prime and fill 'er up!

A buddy just bought the Aqueon version of the Python from Amazon for like $29 shipped, that is the cheapest I have found so far for the 25 foot one. FWIW.
__________________
meegosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 07:50 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Welshy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: UK - Wales
Posts: 245
Cheers for the info guys I hate using the bucket method have been looking for an easier method!
__________________
Welshy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 12:38 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Tim Wheatley's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Frankfort, IL
Posts: 1,342
Yup, I fill straight into the tank.

I also use pond water conditioner, which is more highly concentrated than the aquarium version water condition but costs less. It allows me to OD water conditioner and make sure I treat it all.
__________________
My Fish Videos | My Fish Photos
Tim Wheatley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 12:51 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Welshy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: UK - Wales
Posts: 245
Cheers tim! I will look in to this, could solve all my problems!
__________________
Welshy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 01:10 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
itsgracia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
Posts: 1,209
Same here...i drain water...put Prime in for the tank voloume (3mL for my 29 gallon), then fill it straight from the sink...I love it sure saved me a lot of back aches.
__________________

__________________
"Fish are friends, not food." - Finding Nemo
itsgracia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
water changes

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cleaning a dry tank - something easier than vinegar and water? ScotJ Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 03-01-2009 10:39 PM
Cool filter plumbing idea, makes PWC easier helicopter DIY Projects 15 11-26-2008 03:56 AM
Another Brainstorm idea...... Lonewolfblue Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 07-01-2007 05:28 PM
Just had a brainstorm! LOL GouramiFanatic Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 04-19-2005 08:45 PM
Powerhead / Pump Question -- for easier water changes... Spoon Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 01-22-2004 07:36 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.