Ecotech DIY battery backup

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tommygun

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello I'm a newbie to aquarium advice

I'm sure this topic has been covered before but I would greatly appreciate any advice given. I have a couple of tanks running Ecotech MP10 pumps they work great. In my area we get power outages from time to time usually lasting no more than a couple of hours. Eventually I plan on getting Ecotech battery backups for them maybe? I say maybe because of the expense 169.99 plus tax or shipping times two for just in case. I know some could argue what's your live stock worth and I get that. At one time I used a battery powered fishing bait pump to circulate water during a 24 hour power outage.

In a pinch could a car battery be used to run these? It sounds crazy I know but I read on a forum somewhere saying as long it's a 12 volt 18 ah battery it will work. Also does anybody know of a DIY kit for a battery backup for the Ecotech pumps? part of me is cheap and the other part likes to tinker around But I don't want to have to replace a 200.00 pump just because I'm cheap any advice ?

Thank you

The everstart marine battery 24dp-4 is only a 12V battery used for starting and trolling boats. I don't know much about your filter system but after looking it up it seems that all its equipped with is a 12V battery (correct me please if I'm wrong) using a car battery might be too much voltage for the filter to handle. IMO I think that the boat battery would be the best way to go. I hope this helps :) welcome to AA by the way!

Hello and thank you.