Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-21-2003, 08:07 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,151
Float Switch?

I really want to put a float switch on my minibow, so if something happened to my overflow, it would become wet and then shut my pump off.
__________________

__________________
If you don't love what you do, you'd better find something else to love. Otherwise, you don't have a reason for living.
-Ray B.
d9hp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2003, 03:02 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Horn Lake, MS
Posts: 96
A float switch won't turn on/off because it gets wet. It will turn on/off due to a change in water level.
__________________

__________________
Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2003, 05:24 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,151
I know, but when it gets wet, that means the water level has risen up and lifted the switch off the probe. I think my question sounded like a statement. I was wondering if my idea would work, and I did not give you my idea. The float switch floats on the water, and when the water drops, it connects to a disc on the probe which completes the circuit right? So could I just put the probe higher, so the float switch is always on the disc, and then when the water rises it comes of the disc and kills the circuit?
__________________
If you don't love what you do, you'd better find something else to love. Otherwise, you don't have a reason for living.
-Ray B.
d9hp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2003, 12:33 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Horn Lake, MS
Posts: 96
I'm not sure I follow your disc and probe, but I will explain how float switches work:

Basically, there are two types of float switches commonly used: 1) A switch that uses an actual "float" and 2) A vacuum triggered switch. With the "float" switch, you can usually set to where the float down means "on" and the float up means "off" or vice versa. So if you want a pump to stop based on a rising water level, you can set the float switch to where a rise in the float shuts-off the power. Hence an increase in water level and the pump shuts off. Many folks (including myself) use the other way. If the float goes down, a pump turns on, filling the tank or sump. When the float goes up, that pump shuts down. Many folks keeping a SW or reef tank will use this to keep water level and salinity constant. I'm setting up a FW/brackish tank that will use a float switch (the vacuum type), so I don't have to perform water top-off. This really isn't necessary in a FW tank, but since I already have the equipment, I might as well add some automation.

Vacuum switches are not as sensitve as traditional "float" switches. In other words, it takes a greater rise or fall in water level to trigger a response. However, the vacuum type doesn't stick like the "float" type. My recommendation is to use the vacuum type if you are using a doser to top-off your tank. A traditional "float" switch often works better if you are using a pump or powerhead to top-off your tank.
__________________
Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2003, 11:13 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,151
I dont think you understand me, I know how the thing works, and I am going to use the float one. Can I use it to shut of power to the pump if the water level rises?
__________________
If you don't love what you do, you'd better find something else to love. Otherwise, you don't have a reason for living.
-Ray B.
d9hp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2003, 10:25 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Horn Lake, MS
Posts: 96
Yes. You can make it turn the pump off when the water level rises.
__________________

__________________
Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Found an awesome float switch helicopter DIY Projects 3 04-23-2007 09:29 PM
RO/DI Float Switch awillemd1 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 04-25-2005 07:03 PM
Ultralife Float Switch Sam General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 09-10-2004 08:48 AM
float switch klg1824 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 04-08-2004 07:23 PM
Need: Easy mount for float switch BillyZ DIY Projects 3 04-08-2004 10:46 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.