Float switch auto pump turn-off

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AdamHorton

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I know this is super-paranoid, but I'm kind of surprised that I'm (seemingly) the only person to want to try this:

In my refugium/sump where my sump pump is, I want to install a float switch that will turn the pump off when the water level gets too low. I've bought a float switch already which can either close or open a circuit when I want the pump off.

Unfortunately, the only way I have of turning the pump on and off is by plugging/unplugging it. What I need is something that I can plug into the wall, and then plug my pump into that will take the input from my float switch turn on/off the pump. I went to Radio Shack and the guy there sold me some kind of "relay" and a power supply for it. I have a master's degree in electrical and computer engineering and I haven't the slightest idea what he wanted me to do with it, and I'm kind of worried about doing it that way anyways because I don't want to fry my switch with too much current.

Has anyone ever dealt with this before, or might have some help? Thanks,

I would be careful with what kind of voltage you send through that switch, do you know the specifications on the switch and are the switch connections out in the open or protected? Usually it's a microswitch with a low current capacity and would probably burn out in short order, the only way around the capacity limitations of the microswitch is to drive a relay with a high current capacity contacts and low voltage dc coil which would require you to get a transformer to step your house voltage down to drive the relay then run the hot leg through the relay contact to drive the pump. Almost forgot, the relay needed would also have to be capable of handling an inductive load.

Ohhhh