Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-17-2007, 08:38 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Princeton NJ
Posts: 153
Found an awesome float switch

I don't know if this is really the best place to post this but I just wanted to comment on how much I liked this float switch that I received. It is made by this guy in Tampa Florida. Check out the link http://aquadevices.50megs.com/order1.htm

I initially had problems because I must have been drawing massive current when my pump turned on but he sent me another system out immediately with a modified SCR to handle the current. It works great and is cheaper than the other retail ones I found online.
__________________

__________________
helicopter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2007, 12:47 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,254
I'd like to see a picture of your setup. I'm curious to see how you have this all rigged up.
__________________

__________________
theotheragentm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2007, 12:05 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Princeton NJ
Posts: 153
Picture

Sure, as soon as I can get my girlfriend to bring over her camera I will take a picture. But basically you just put the sensor (as you can see in the picture from the link I sent you) anywhere in your tank and you can easily flip the flot so that it turns on/off when it is floating up/down. So whenever the water level drops it triggers the outlet (which you plug into a normal wall outlet) to become live so whatever you have plugged into it (I have a pump and a heater) will become active.
__________________
helicopter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2007, 09:29 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Harrisonburg, VA & Montross, VA
Posts: 56
www.aquahub.com is another great place to get float switches.

I bought one from them for my sump ... it is listed here on my site: http://schulzjp.tripod.com/recommend.../products.html
__________________
schulze is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RO/DI Float Switch awillemd1 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 04-25-2005 07:03 PM
Ultralife Float Switch Sam General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 09-10-2004 08:48 AM
float switch klg1824 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 04-08-2004 07:23 PM
Need: Easy mount for float switch BillyZ DIY Projects 3 04-08-2004 10:46 AM
Float Switch? d9hp DIY Projects 5 05-24-2003 10:25 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.