Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-06-2012, 02:38 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 23
Freshwater Sump

I am going to be setting up either a 75 gallon or 90 gallon chichlid tank and want to design a sump from a 29 gallon aquarium, here is my idea. I'd love any feedback, suggestions or problems you see with the design.

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Sump.jpg
Views:	137
Size:	90.9 KB
ID:	99015  
__________________

__________________
jllapin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 02:53 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Link119's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 334
good idea, but drop the charcoal idea because its only needed for meds...
__________________

__________________
10 Gallon Planted
Link119 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 02:54 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
paytertot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: joplin missouri
Posts: 1,822
I agree I never use the carbon in my filters or anything, only bio media
__________________
"A fish with his mouth closed never gets caught" -mob quote
paytertot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 03:05 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 23
Interesting, then I'm curious why most commercial filtration systems come with an activated carbon filter.
__________________
jllapin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 03:12 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
paytertot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: joplin missouri
Posts: 1,822
I don't really know. I only use it if I've been medicating or the water gets smelly or weird colored for any reason (which only happened once and its because of medication, soo)
__________________
"A fish with his mouth closed never gets caught" -mob quote
paytertot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 03:44 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 91
Usually charcoal and plants do not mix. Charcoal is a chemical filter, which will take out any chemicals you may use, be that medications or some fertilizers.
__________________
Trickerie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 01:15 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Terrance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,577
Get rid of the bioballs. They are not suppose to be submerged, but need water trickling through them. Keep the charcoal out and be ready to clean the first sponge often.

Heck, I would put a filter sock at the drain line. Its better than the sponge IMO. The second sponge would catch any plant debris from getting into the pump, but watch it carefully. If that sponge traps too many plant debris, then the flow will drastically be reduced and you get and your refugium area will overflow.

What kind of plants will you use? Are you going to use the refugium area for anything else?
__________________
Kind Regards,
Terrance
Terrance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 11:24 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Smitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 1,206
Are you planning on having a substrate for the plants? If so the location of the break going to the return won't work as it is on the bottom and would just fill with the substrate.
__________________
Smitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 12:23 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 23
Small gravel, there will be 4-5" between the gravel and the barricade for the return, I was trying to get the water to actually flow through the plants instead of just over them. I will be using plants that will grow in just about any conditions so no need for plant oriented substrate.
__________________
jllapin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 02:12 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Smitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 1,206
I don't think there are any plants that do well with having the water flow through them as opposed to a standard sump layout. The plants will still draw nutrients from the water. I think you would have more problems with the setup you have shown than you would if the overflow was at the top, but if you are using something heavy (like gravel) you may be OK.
__________________

__________________
Smitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
freshwater, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.