Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 03-10-2009, 09:30 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
fx5 with 120

I'm currently running a freshwater drilled tank I am also instead of a sump or watever you put under there I hooked up a fx5 anybody heard of people doing things like that?????? any info or sugestions would be great not knowlagable in drilled overfloww tanks thankyou

timandmindy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 11:18 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
jsoong's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 4,222
The drilled tanks are meant for a sump setup. If you don't use a sump, you can block off the holes with bulkheads & standpipes that are above the water line (or plugs if you have threaded bulkheads). You can then use the canister as per normal.

If you have an overflow box setup, you can utilize the drilled holes for your FX5 hookup. Without an overflow box, I would only hook up the canister if the both lines have standpipes so you are skimming water from the top of the tank & returning water to the top. <Reason is that if you have the lines at the bottom of the tank, and there is a leak with any of the hoses, you will drain your tank completely ....>

80 gal FW with 30 gal DIY wet/dry/sump.
9 fancy golds, 1 hillstream loaches, 1 rubber-lip pleco (C. thomasi), 3 SAEs, small school of white cloud minnows, planted.
jsoong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 02:08 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
I do have the overflow box so if there ever was a leak i think thers about 2 to 3 gallons of water in it. I also routed the outlet tube inside and around to the oposite side of the tank. Had i had known i would have to be doing this i prob would'nt have put my tank so close to the wall i cann't get anything behind it
KIDS HEY grab anything and everything. seems to be working fine

Thankyou for your advise
timandmindy is offline   Reply With Quote


Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FX5 eatsomepopcorn General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 02-05-2010 11:19 AM
Fluval Fx5 JoshsReef General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 13 05-08-2008 11:56 AM
Fluval FX5 JoshsReef General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 10-24-2007 03:03 PM
WANTED: Proquatics 120/ Hydor Bravo 120 HOB filter part clearerphish Archive 0 06-02-2007 08:05 PM
Fluval FX5 wobbles General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 01-22-2007 08:27 PM

» Photo Contest Winners

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:09 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.