HELP! DIY RGB LED - Complete Novice!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TomStav

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hi Guys,

I'm hoping someone here can help as I have searched the web all night with no luck! I know absolutely nothing about LEDs but am determined to get this to work! :confused:

I am trying to make a remote controlled single 10W LED spotlight to put over my IM-10 fusion nano tank... I want this to be a controllable RGB light so that I can change the color with the remote. This will be purely for aesthetics and not to support plants/corals. I don't want to use the pre-made LED strip lights because I am housing this inside a Kessil A150 (the Kassil burnt out a while ago so I am repurposing the housing).

Right... So here are the components I have...

So, now my goal is to (if it's even possible) connect these 4 coloured cables into a single 10W RGB LED chip. I have bought the following two chips hoping one of them would work...

Will either of these chips connect to the 4 coloured cables? If so, how do I connect them? If not, what kind of chip should I be using?

Any help here would be greatly appreciated! :thanks:

Thanks!
Tom

Attachments

• s-l1600-1.jpg
    s-l1600-1.jpg
    38.3 KB · Views: 129
  • s-l1600.jpg
    s-l1600.jpg
    156 KB · Views: 139
  • s-l1600-3.jpg
    s-l1600-3.jpg
    19.2 KB · Views: 117
  • s-l1600-2.jpg
    s-l1600-2.jpg
    174.8 KB · Views: 126