Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 01-05-2016, 10:29 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Question HELP! DIY RGB LED - Complete Novice!

Hi Guys,

I'm hoping someone here can help as I have searched the web all night with no luck! I know absolutely nothing about LEDs but am determined to get this to work!

I am trying to make a remote controlled single 10W LED spotlight to put over my IM-10 fusion nano tank... I want this to be a controllable RGB light so that I can change the color with the remote. This will be purely for aesthetics and not to support plants/corals. I don't want to use the pre-made LED strip lights because I am housing this inside a Kessil A150 (the Kassil burnt out a while ago so I am repurposing the housing).

Right... So here are the components I have...

So, now my goal is to (if it's even possible) connect these 4 coloured cables into a single 10W RGB LED chip. I have bought the following two chips hoping one of them would work...

Will either of these chips connect to the 4 coloured cables? If so, how do I connect them? If not, what kind of chip should I be using?

Any help here would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!
Tom
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	s-l1600-1.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	38.3 KB
ID:	283028   Click image for larger version

Name:	s-l1600.jpg
Views:	110
Size:	156.0 KB
ID:	283029  

Click image for larger version

Name:	s-l1600-3.jpg
Views:	91
Size:	19.2 KB
ID:	283030   Click image for larger version

Name:	s-l1600-2.jpg
Views:	99
Size:	174.8 KB
ID:	283031  

Old 01-05-2016, 10:50 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion

I know nothing about DIY led lights but wish I did.
Ziggy is building/rebuilding his leds with new 3 watt drivers in his 54g corner build
...Ziggy's 54g Corner ReScape