Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-27-2007, 10:29 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 40
Help for DIY sump

i have a pump that is rated for about 210GPH with a max head of 5.5 feet (it's a Jebao PP-399), the top of my 55 will be about 4 feet above my sump so do u think that would be enough flow???

Also i am currently planning on using my old 10 gal for the sump is that big enough or should i go bigger??

And if i put my HOB filter on my sump would that help at all or be useless???
__________________

__________________
canucksfan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 01:19 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,254
The HOB would do something, but it is a little bit pointless. You would be filtering your filter.
__________________

__________________
theotheragentm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 01:44 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
Is that 210 at 5.5feet or 210 with a shutoff of 5.5 feet? If the pump moves 210gph at 1foot then it isn't going to do much for you. I would suggest a Mag5 or Mag7. What is the GPH of you overflow? What kind of tank is this, reef, FOWLR, FW?
__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 09:20 AM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
If this is your pump then it only does 100 GPH with a 4 ft head which isn't enough flow to bother with IMO.

As Ziggy said a Mag 5 or 7 pump would be a better option depending on what your overflow can handle. You want to match your GPH with a 4-5 ft head as closely as possible to your overflows rated GPH.

A sump should only be filled 2/3rds full to allow for back flow from the tank when the pump goes off (due to maintenance or power failure) so a 10 gal tank will only hold around 6-7 gal which is better then nothing but a larger sump would help.

Of course your kind of limited if you have a standard 55 gal tank stand which is only 11"-12.5" wide internally so depending on your tank stand's internal measurements you may be able to get a 20 gallon High or long tank in it.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 12:08 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 40
Yea i am kinda limited to space at about 27" long 18" high and 15" deep, i could always build a custom sump if i can't find a tank to fit, and i guess i will be pickin up a larger pump.

O and i don't have an overflow as of right now but was planning on building one some what like the one on this page http://www.aquariacentral.com/forums...light=DIY+sump it's about 2/3 of the way down the page. For my sump i was thinkin sumthing like this http://www.aquariacentral.com/forums...light=DIY+sump seems good to me any opinions??

Let me know what you think!
__________________
canucksfan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 12:34 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Can't see the threads unless logged on. We have a DIY sump post though which is good.

Never tried a DIY overflow but can't imagine it being too difficult.

Your stand has plenty of room for a 20 gal tank.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 06:52 AM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
Running a HOB on the sump could be used for carbon or just polishing the water. The sump it self is not doing any filtering. While not needed, it could be useful. The sump is a place to put things in your system that you don't want to see up top. Adding water volume is always a good thing as well.
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 11:36 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 662
The Mag Drive 5 is rated at 310 GPH at 4' and 250 at 5'. The Mag 7 is rated at about 450 GPH at 4' and a little less at 5'. As mentioned above a 10 gallon would suffice but it is better to go larger.
__________________

__________________
C/
chase33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
diy, diy sump, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My first DIY sump. h8z2luze DIY Projects 19 02-24-2008 04:10 AM
DIY sump blackthunda77 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 03-27-2004 09:17 PM
diy sump waelaase DIY Projects 6 01-20-2004 10:14 AM
Help with DIY sump cj10488 DIY Projects 6 12-29-2003 12:14 AM
DIY sump dansemacabre DIY Projects 1 09-07-2003 12:45 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.