Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-16-2015, 12:41 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Stacey W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 619
Ok, I figured. That's exactly what I need. In the meantime I'm getting good exercise. Good thing I have the strength since I've been a veterinarian technician for 13 years!

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
Stacey W. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 10:49 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mom2reds's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lubbock Texas
Posts: 1,799
I use a python vacuum with a 50 ft tubing and I hook it up to my water hose outside to drain water out of my tank, that way I water my grass or my flower beds.
__________________

__________________
mom2reds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 08:19 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jkdubs2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 581
Cheap way would be to buy a hose long enough for the distance and buy 2 fittings. One that connects the hose to the shower or sink faucet to refil the tank and a separate one that connects the hose to the vacuum. Or you could cut the end of the hose that you don't need for connecting to the faucet and use a hose clamp to connect it to the gravel vac. Either way it's cheap and easier. I connect mine to a shower head and get the temp right and then start the flow to the tank.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
jkdubs2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 08:24 PM   #14
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,047
50ft neverkink drinking water hose from home depot + waterbed fill/drain kit from ebay.
__________________
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 10:25 PM   #15
Macro Addict
Community Moderator
 
54seaweed's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 7,535
Quote:
Can I hook this up to just a simple vacuum.
only if it's a wet dry vac but to empty that is just as bad as the 5g buckets
__________________
Save
54seaweed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 10:33 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Stacey W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by 54seaweed View Post
only if it's a wet dry vac but to empty that is just as bad as the 5g buckets
Sorry to confuse you I mean an aquarium gravel vacuum. My front door is pretty close to my tank. It just takes forever .

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Stacey W. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2015, 06:11 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: was Kona Hawaii, now Oregon
Posts: 76
I'd just invest in a longer hose. You might have to prime the hose, if your existing hose has a pump you're starting the siphon with you'd just want to fill the hose from the outside end to the one way valve in the pump (assuming you've got what I think you have). A siphon is a siphon, the hose could be a mile long as long as the far end is below the water level in the tank, just getting it started might be tough. I once siphoned my tanks with a 100 foot hose, that was tough to get started... I swallowed a mouth or two of saltwater accidently that time.


The utility pump and a longer hose mentioned earlier is probably the easiest way
__________________
friscuba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2015, 07:46 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 248
What I have been doing with my Python is I have the water bed adapter in my sewage drain (make sure you have the bottom drain connector open) and I suck on the end that goes to the sink. Doesn't take much to get the water flowing. That way I don't have my mouth on something that had fish water in it.

Once done draining I hook it up to a sink to fill.

I find faster suction with gravity for draining then using the sink plus saves water.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
Ryan87500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fish trap, easier way to catch fish? wildroseofky Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 09-21-2013 07:19 PM
Easier water changes idea, help me brainstorm ChelseaLake DIY Projects 18 03-09-2011 01:10 PM
Powerhead / Pump Question -- for easier water changes... Spoon Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 01-22-2004 07:36 PM
Easier to plan ahead? or design as you go... mgkaelen Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 11-18-2003 12:24 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.