Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-15-2015, 09:10 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Stacey W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 619
Help! Need an easier way to do WC's

I have a 55 gallon column style tank downstairs and 1 bathroom which is upstairs. I use a 5 gallon bucket to drain an 5, 2 gallon buckets to fill my tank after draining. I also have a sliding glass door approximately 20 feet in front of my tank. What's a cheap easy way to siphon my tank and have the water piped out through the sliding glass door?

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
Stacey W. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 09:32 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
ywagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 250
Ya idk how u are surviving doing 5 gallons at a time. I would definitely try to siphon the water outside or maybe to a Sewage drain?

As for filling the tank, go to your local hardware store and buy tubing to fit the length, and also from lfs a cleaning kit that has gravel vac and the attachment to sink.


Sent from my fish tank
__________________

__________________
ywagner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 09:41 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Stacey W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by ywagner View Post
Ya idk how u are surviving doing 5 gallons at a time. I would definitely try to siphon the water outside or maybe to a Sewage drain?

As for filling the tank, go to your local hardware store and buy tubing to fit the length, and also from lfs a cleaning kit that has gravel vac and the attachment to sink.


Sent from my fish tank
I really don't want fish water in my kitchen sink. I know I sound wimpy but that's gross. I really just need to divise a way to easily siphon with my vacuum I have because I can deal the filly of the tank with the 2 gallon buckets. How can I make a extension to my vaccum that has enough umph to draw the water outside?

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Stacey W. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 09:43 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
ywagner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 250
Well if the tank is raised there will be enough umph as long as you start it. How do you refill the water


Sent from my fish tank
__________________
ywagner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 10:03 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Stacey W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 619
The tank is raised and my vaccum starts to siphon by a pumping motion. I fill my tank using 5, 2 gallon buckets with conditioner in the bathtub upstairs. We have tried connecting tubing to fit my vaccum but it won't start siphoning with the type of vaccum I have.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Stacey W. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 10:39 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
MacabreGoblin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 18
Send a message via Skype™ to MacabreGoblin
Have you tried a Python? My tank is downstairs and I too have to use an upstairs bathroom to drain/fill my tank. You would have to use your sink rather than your tub, but I've found it's such a relieving alternative to the old gravity-vacuum-and-bucket method. Mine is 50ft long but I think they come in 70 or 75 ft too, if your bathroom is farther from your tank than mine is.
__________________
'Methinks that in looking at things spiritual, we are too much like oysters observing
the sun through the water, and thinking that water the thinnest of air.' - Herman Melville, Moby-Dick

29G freshwater tropical community tank
MacabreGoblin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 11:13 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Stacey W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 619
I simply want to run my dirty water directly out of my tank to the outside.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Stacey W. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 12:02 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dallascowboys16's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Highlands Ranch, Co
Posts: 1,773
Get a strong aquarium utility pump and some 3/4 inch inner diameter hosing and run it out your door, will work great. I also have a 55 gallon and I do 5 gallon buckets up and down the stars to outside to fill up from the spigot because I have a water softener on my indoor tap water so not good for my planted tanks. I honestly get along just fine doing 30- 50% changes weekly.
__________________
55 gallon Planted Tank - 10 gallon Reef - 5.5 Pea Puffer
2015 AA Fantasy Football Champion
Dallascowboys16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 12:33 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Stacey W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 619
Thanks Dallascowboys 16! Can I hook this up to just a simple vacuum.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Stacey W. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 12:35 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dallascowboys16's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Highlands Ranch, Co
Posts: 1,773
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stacey W. View Post
Thanks Dallascowboys 16! Can I hook this up to just a simple vacuum.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
no, you don't use a vacuum with it, you just hold it in the tank to pump water. you can get an iline pump if you would like to incorporate a vacuum into the system.
__________________

__________________
55 gallon Planted Tank - 10 gallon Reef - 5.5 Pea Puffer
2015 AA Fantasy Football Champion
Dallascowboys16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fish trap, easier way to catch fish? wildroseofky Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 09-21-2013 07:19 PM
Easier water changes idea, help me brainstorm ChelseaLake DIY Projects 18 03-09-2011 01:10 PM
Powerhead / Pump Question -- for easier water changes... Spoon Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 01-22-2004 07:36 PM
Easier to plan ahead? or design as you go... mgkaelen Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 11-18-2003 12:24 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.