Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 10-10-2008, 08:28 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Mr. Mantis's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 14
Question Help with Connecting 2 Tanks Together

The main 40 gallon tank is currently housing a 5 inch Peacock Mantis Shrimp. By attaching another aquarium to the main, I'm hoping to at least keep a couple small fish. Maybe a small Clown Goby and a Sexy shrimp. I have 40Lbs of LS and about 20Lbs of LR in the main tank. I'm planning on adding 10lbs of LS and 10lbs of LR in the 10 gallon. I have a new HOB Aquaclear 70 on the main and a Marineland Penguin 150 for the smaller tank.

Here are my questions:

1) What should the flowrate be for the powerhead in the 10 gallon tank?

2) Do i have enough filtration for the 2 tanks?

3) If the powerhead fails, will anything die?

4) Anyone done anything similar with positive results?

5) Any suggestions on improvements?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	connecting tanks.jpg
Views:	885
Size:	36.6 KB
ID:	15625  

Mr. Mantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 08:09 AM   #2
SW 20 & Over Club
ccCapt's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
IMO, that is a disaster waiting to happen.
The main issues I see is how are you going to even start the siphon that connects the 2 tanks, and if a snail or piece of algae restricts the connecting lines, all the water will get pumped out of the 1 tank, into the other and ultimately on the floor.

If you really want to try to connect them, I would try drilling them and connecting them with bulkheads.

125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 12:57 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
jsoong's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 4,222

This is how someone connects multiple tanks. But I agree with ccCapt that if the siphon fails, you will have a flood, plus you will pump the small tank dry .... not good for its inhabitant.

This is essentially a sump/fuge setup with the sump at the same level as your display. You can minimize flooding if:
1. Have someway of preventing siphon failure - screens to prevent critters form entering the siphon <or have huge siphons like the fish highway people>, and some way of air evacuation - people usu. use a venturi attached to the PH .... but if that fails .....
2. Move the PH to the top of the tank - That way, if the siphon fails, the pump can only pump so much water before it runs dry. You must have enough room in the tanks to handle the extra flow (ie tanks should not be full), and if the pump runs dry, it will kill the pump - but better than a flood.
80 gal FW with 30 gal DIY wet/dry/sump.
9 fancy golds, 1 hillstream loaches, 1 rubber-lip pleco (C. thomasi), 3 SAEs, small school of white cloud minnows, planted.
jsoong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 12:46 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
ThrowedToad's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 205
how about one tank higher than the other and making an overflow? That would consist of drilling only one tank and it would only have to be slightly higher than the other. It would be similar to a sump/fuge but set the overflow to where if the pump stops it will only siphon a little and not overflow the other tank. If you need advise on how to drill a tank let me know and I will help.
ThrowedToad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 08:24 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: london uk
Posts: 2
i was thinking of the same setup with one main large and and a smaller tank which the base of would be a couple inches higher than the main tanks base it would be setup like your diagram but im planning on pumping the water into the smaller tank first which will be siphoned to the larger main thank. i will be using a 110mm diameter clear pvc pipe with is about 4 inches so i doubt the siphon would get blocked unless a big fish got stuck. but my question is, as i done tonnes of research but can not find anyone with the answer with my smaller tank overflow or would both tank end up at the same levels remembering that one tank is slightly higher will this have alot of affect
harshy is offline   Reply With Quote


Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
connecting tanks good or bad idea divedeep1689 Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 19 08-15-2009 01:49 PM
Revisiting the idea of connecting two tanks fearlessfisch Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 24 03-07-2006 01:02 PM
Connecting 2 tanks Xzap Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 08-26-2005 11:24 AM
What do you all think about this for connecting 2 tanks.... Civicman86 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 08-10-2005 07:13 PM
Connecting 2 sumps hitsnorth DIY Projects 5 12-17-2003 12:00 PM

» Photo Contest Winners

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:44 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.