Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-26-2005, 06:10 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
The magnetic ballasts that come with shoplights cant be used for od'ing.. electrionic ones would need to be bought.. ($7 for the 2-4'bulb ballast, and $20-40 for a 4-4" bulb ballast)
__________________

__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 08:43 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Calgary AB Canada
Posts: 36
krap101 I was thinking of buildong some end plates that would sit on the edgeof the tank at the height I woul need, similar to a hood but with out the full enclosure. I have a lid on the tank now and could just suspend it slightly above the lid. but not resting or hanging from the ceiling. I suppose you could hang it from the ceiling but I think it would look more like a grow op than an aquarium.
__________________

__________________
Good Day Eh!
mrgolfball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 10:59 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: toney alabama
Posts: 40
why don't you just run two of the $7.00 fixtures and four of the 6700K bulbs. that will still give you 160 watts of light safely and spread it over a larger area of the tank.
__________________
Nobody wants a broken fishtank, capish?
bigsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 12:31 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cleveland ohio
Posts: 361
Send a message via ICQ to JProx Send a message via AIM to JProx
because less is more! and people on the diy forums want to squeeze every last watt out of a light we possibly can, and its done with the use of Od'ing. where's the fun and excitement in using 2 seperate fixtures? i know i have to pump out every last Megahert from my cpu and vid card, or i can't sleep at night.

but all joking aside, thats probably the simplest and easiest solution out there, however unless you're dealing with a large tank (55gallons and up) you will be rather limited by the width of the tank, and the amount of bulbs one can use as a result. if 2 bulbs take up 1/2 the width of your tank, 4 bulbs will take up almost every inch and make feeding difficult, as well as some other daily fish routines. also magnetic ballasts do shorten bulb life, generate hums, run hotter, and use (on average) over 60% more power than ellectronic ballasts. and if you are going to use electronic ballasts to skip over the above problems, why not spend 4-5 bucks more and join the od'ing bandwagon ? but if you want the cheapest (and the most crude) lighting system out there, 2 fixtures would be the best idea, if you can work around (or tolerate) the tank width problem.
__________________
JProx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 12:53 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: toney alabama
Posts: 40
I agree on the wastefull magnetic balasts that weigh alot too.
but I bought 3 of the $19.00 fixtures and discarded the sheetmetal and mounted the guts straight to the canopy with the lights mounted 3" apart on center.
you could mount them as close a 2" apart on center but getting rid of the sheetmetal shaved alot of weight. I have 6 lights mounted above my homemade 120 gal FW tank (48x24x24). I run them on 3 timers which gives me dawn, dusk and suntan bed. the plants showed signs of growing but the fish ate them faster than they grew, so as of now only running one set of lights

only problem I had was remembering to wear sunglasses when I lifted the top to feed the fish, lol
__________________
bigsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2005, 05:58 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Calgary AB Canada
Posts: 36
Do you have any pictures of your setup, this sounds right up my alley of what I wanted to do.

mike
__________________
mrgolfball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2005, 06:15 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Maumee, Ohio
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to iains
yeah ha, i was thinking the same thing because idk if i can fit a hood on my aquarium.
__________________
iains is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2005, 08:51 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cleveland ohio
Posts: 361
Send a message via ICQ to JProx Send a message via AIM to JProx
just remember big sky, has one of only 3 tanks (that are manufactored) that exceed 18inches in width, the other 2 tanks are the 180 and the 210. most tanks range from 10inches to 13in to 18inches with most tanks having 18inches in width.

it is true though you can modify shoplights to fit above any tank, if i made that point ealier, i apologize, it wasn't intended.
__________________
JProx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2005, 08:54 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: toney alabama
Posts: 40
I don't have any pictures but I'll try and explain. I have a glass cover sitting on my brace work. the braces are recessed down 1/2" so the galss cover sits below the top of the tank. the front 5" strip is hinged for feeding.

the top of my tank has a wooden ring or band, if you will, just 1x6 boards forming a rectangle to fit around the outside of the tank it has two tabs (sections of a yard stick) one on each side to hold it up on the tank, call this the "canopy" .

then, I made a top to cover the tank and it sits on top of the "canopy" we'll call this the "lid". It has a 7" section piano hinged across the front to for acress to the glass cover for feeding. the whole "lid is about 3/4" larger than the "canopy" making a lip around the front and sides and back. on the back I glued and screwed a 1X6 to the lip hanging down. this alows me to sit the "lid on and pull it forward to the correct position every time and I mounted the ballasts.

for the lights I disassembled the light fixtures no tool needed for that, just pop off the strip between the end caps and then unclip the end and pull the end caps off You'll need a screwdriver to remove the ballast. so now all you have is the ballast four endcaps and two bare wires. the endcaps have a slot in them between where the wires plug in use a screw and washer to screw them to the "lid" you'll need to lengthen the wires I used solid core wire one gauge thicker than that use by the lighting manufacture and electricians wire nuts to join the wires together.ran the wires out the back and mounted the ballast on the back of the "lid" on the board that hangs down. I cut the end off a heavy duty extension-cord used wire nuts to connect it to the power wires and a metal strip with two holes in it to strap down the cord nest to the ballast. I had to cut the 3rd prong off the plug in so it would plug into my timer.

i did this three times for a total of 6 lights and three timers 1)8am-8pm 2)9am-9pm 3)10am-10pm. I mounted the lights 3" apart starting 2.25" form the back board that hangs down. I wouldn't mount the bulbs closer than 2" on center ,the bulbs are 1.5"in diameter and that would leave 1/4" space between then.

my fist kept eating my plants so I gave up on them and now I just run 2 light bulbs.

I recommend using URI lightbulbs with the internal reflectors so you don't have to make reflectors.

clear as mud eh??-it really is simple.
__________________
Nobody wants a broken fishtank, capish?
bigsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2005, 09:03 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: toney alabama
Posts: 40
a 55 gal being 48x13x21 you could fit 6 lights a 2" on center starting 1" from the back. you would have to lift the whole thing up or make the front of the canopy fold up or down to get access, 6 bulbs aren't very heavy though.
__________________

__________________
Nobody wants a broken fishtank, capish?
bigsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
light, lights

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Home Depot Shop Lights info snorkel DIY Projects 2 10-17-2005 12:44 AM
Home Depot Gravel cd5 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 03-22-2005 01:40 AM
lighting from home depot iwantareef16 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 11 02-26-2005 12:43 AM
Who's Home Depot carries... pondmom Saltwater Reef Aquaria 45 02-19-2004 12:34 AM
Sand from Home Depot EMS503 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 08-26-2003 10:18 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.