Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-20-2014, 09:17 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KristaButler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Charlotte (area) NC
Posts: 204
Hook python to sink info

So, be gentle I am a female. lol

I have an older python that does not have any special connection. I decided I needed it to hook to the sink. Well in my little town Lowes did not have the appropriate 3/8 barb to 1/2 faucet connector. So this is what I came up with. Maybe this may help some with the same dilemma.

Tubing $7 20ft
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1416532375.661509.jpg
Views:	173
Size:	235.4 KB
ID:	256226

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1416532479.229159.jpg
Views:	178
Size:	193.3 KB
ID:	256227Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1416532494.446262.jpg
Views:	168
Size:	152.1 KB
ID:	256228Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1416532507.081957.jpg
Views:	172
Size:	217.5 KB
ID:	256230Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1416532521.294924.jpg
Views:	166
Size:	219.6 KB
ID:	256231

That's all folks. I wasn't looking to spend too much money. $7 for the hose and $3.50 total for all the adapters. Now I'm ready to conquer my 55 gallon.


May the force be with you.
__________________

__________________
KristaButler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2014, 12:53 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 204
Can you use it as a siphon as well?

Sent from my VK810 4G using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
jennandjuicetm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2014, 02:00 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mudraker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Alaska
Posts: 1,652
PWC away sister!
__________________
mudraker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2014, 05:57 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KristaButler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Charlotte (area) NC
Posts: 204
I wish there was a way to delete a post. The thread actual ended up not fitting my sink. So I went back to lowes and got another attachment. It didn't fit either. I got so frustrated. Too many trips to Lowes. Lol

Anyways the answer was Infront of me the entire time. I just rammed the tube up the faucet. I uses the bigger python hose then rammed the smaller python hose inside the bigger python. It works great!

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1416822987.950496.jpg
Views:	155
Size:	173.1 KB
ID:	256476

Yes it syphons, but I run it down hill. Out the door.


May the force be with you.
__________________
KristaButler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2014, 08:02 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
There's a fitting out there for you!! Use the force krista!! No seriously though. ..if that let's go you'll have quite the mess on your hands. .

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2014, 08:56 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Ruffers99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: NJ
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brookster123 View Post
There's a fitting out there for you!! Use the force krista!! No seriously though. ..if that let's go you'll have quite the mess on your hands. .

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Yep there is the main python siphon fitting that you connect to the sink to either suck the water out or twist the bottom to make the water pump into your tank.
Amazon.com : Python Aquarium Replacement Pump : Aquarium Filter Accessories : Pet Supplies

if it doesn't fit then they do a faucet adapter
Amazon.com : Python Brass Adapter for Aquarium : Python Aquarium Cleaner : Pet Supplies
__________________
Life is too short, dont over complicate it
PondGuru made a believer out of me
BioHome Ultimate media
Ruffers99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2014, 09:41 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KristaButler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Charlotte (area) NC
Posts: 204
Summoning the force.......


May the force be with you.
__________________
KristaButler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2014, 09:49 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
Something like this!! http://m.homedepot.com/p/DIG-3-4-in-...0007/100186564

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2014, 03:54 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mudraker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Alaska
Posts: 1,652
Quote:
I wish there was a way to delete a post. The thread actual ended up not fitting my sink. So I went back to lowes and got another attachment. It didn't fit either. I got so frustrated. Too many trips to Lowes. Lol

Anyways the answer was Infront of me the entire time. I just rammed the tube up the faucet. I uses the bigger python hose then rammed the smaller python hose inside the bigger python. It works great!
You know, sharing this is actually great because we can all learn from the failure of others as much as success of others.
__________________
mudraker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2014, 05:07 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KristaButler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Charlotte (area) NC
Posts: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brookster123 View Post
There's a fitting out there for you!! Use the force krista!! No seriously though. ..if that let's go you'll have quite the mess on your hands. .

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app

I sit at the kitchen table while I fill a empty. I have to lower and raise the baby net. I don't know why I feel the need to raise babies of all kinds (including chickens, but, hey this is a fish site). So the tubing is not unattended. If it broke loose I'd get to it before it dumped a whole lot of water. However for security and as my complacency becomes greater with time, I should probably summons the force into finding something to screw on that sucker. Lol


May the force be with you.
__________________

__________________
KristaButler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
python

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Got dosing pump, now how should I hook it up for kalk? jamal-188 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 03-25-2005 05:51 PM
Time to hook up a router... Clown Monarch Aquaria Off-Topic 8 03-16-2005 01:04 PM
Hook multiple tanks up to a temp monitor? jamal-188 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 04-11-2004 03:46 PM
RO Unit hook up ellisz Saltwater Reef Aquaria 11 03-22-2004 07:32 PM
Cannot figure out how to hook up my Barracuda RO unit? jamal-188 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 13 01-08-2004 11:24 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.