Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-12-2011, 09:07 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 11
Question How big of a sump do I need?

How big of a sump do I need for a 55g planted tank (48L 13W 28H) I was thinking about having it as a sump/ refugium. I'm planing on using duckweed in the refugium. I read in Tropical Fish Magazine that duckweed can remove nitrogen, phosphors, potassium. magnesium, calcium, sodium, chlorine, boron, iron, sucrose, fructose, glucose, urea, and most amino acids... So here is the next question what other media do I need. do I use bio balls or sponge or any thing... Question # 3 what size pump do I need. The top of tank will probably be about 6ft off of the ground.... This is my frist time making a sump any information will help...

__________________

__________________
cbc1989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 06:19 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
You could technically do a 10g sump for a 55, although I'd recommend going with a 20l... If you're doing a sump you'll need to chamber the tank, and make sure you run a protein skimmer in it is the 55 drilled or no?
__________________

__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 06:42 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3,677
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbc1989 View Post
How big of a sump do I need for a 55g planted tank (48L 13W 28H) I was thinking about having it as a sump/ refugium. I'm planing on using duckweed in the refugium. I read in Tropical Fish Magazine that duckweed can remove nitrogen, phosphors, potassium. magnesium, calcium, sodium, chlorine, boron, iron, sucrose, fructose, glucose, urea, and most amino acids... So here is the next question what other media do I need. do I use bio balls or sponge or any thing... Question # 3 what size pump do I need. The top of tank will probably be about 6ft off of the ground.... This is my frist time making a sump any information will help...

you dont really need one for fw,but if you get one id do a 20
__________________
nearly a year of complete inactivity and still over 4 posts per day. dedication, eh?
alLexX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 10:44 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 11
huma-huma Thanks for leting me know what size I need for the sump and no the 55 is not drilled I'm thinking of trying a DIY Overflow out of clear pvc down to the sump i've been reading alot about them im going to put a ball valve on it to contor the flow and a Solenoid Valve to stop the water from flowing if the power gos out I fond some on ebay for gravity feed water for $20.90 Im hopeing that will work...

alLexX Thanks for the relpy I know that i realy dont need one for fw but for me its cheeper then buying a canister filter i have 80% of the stuff i need for a sump all I need is a pump and the media
__________________
cbc1989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 04:34 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 11
How big of a pump do i need the top of tank will probably be about 6ft off of the ground
__________________
cbc1989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 12:46 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
kylekody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Longview wa
Posts: 39
Alotta pond pumps will tell you on the side of the box how many gph it'll pump from 0 ft up to 6ft. It's suprising to see how weak pumps are over 3ft
__________________
kylekody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 05:18 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 11
320 gph enough or to much it says it pumps to 6ft.
__________________

__________________
cbc1989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting up a 75 gallon - need sump plumbing help :) catmel Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 07-06-2011 05:24 PM
Sump Rebel1970 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 07-05-2011 12:09 AM
help with my sump JC_Biggs General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 06-30-2011 02:44 AM
sump help craig_will2513 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 06-24-2011 02:25 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.