Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-09-2005, 08:49 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jackson NJ
Posts: 77
Very interesting thread. Thanks all for the info so far.

I'm thinking about using something like this to tie my 20g qt into a 30g garbage can (effectively giving my new fish 50g). Since I'm going with a smaller application, do you think I could build it with smaller diameter PVC? or would it be smarter to redesign it using fewer drains/ports? I'll probably use my Mag 7 as the return ph.

Any thoughts?
__________________

__________________
"Ladies and gentlemen of the jury, I apologize if my last remarks sounded condescending . . . that means when you talk down to people."
--------------------------------
120g RR, 65g HOB and 10g sump, 150g frag tank, 100g sump. Highlights of live stock: Golden Moray eel, 2 purple tangs, 2 yellow tangs, 1 large copperband, 4 GSM's, dragon wrasse, barnacle blenny, 2 pajama cards, 3 green chromis and a dynamic assortment of soft & LPS corals.
JohnS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2005, 09:24 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kamloops, BC
Posts: 206
It could easily be built with smaller tubing or redesigned to have one siphon tube. I was thinking of resizing it myself but I have a whole bunch of one inch tubing and such left over from installing my underground sprinklers that I just stuck with the one inch.

In effect you could definitely cut it in half.
__________________

__________________
easyian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 11:25 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,111
Easyian, you gotten this thing primed and running yet? We're building ours now and are quite curious how we're going to get this started. We were hoping that you would have paved the road before us! LMK if you know what you've learned.

Thanks!
__________________
Phyllis

Join the NJ Reef Club Today! Saving the world's reefs one living room at a time!
MACNA XXI Atlantic City, NJ September 25-27, 2009
Phyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 02:48 AM   #24
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kamloops, BC
Posts: 206
After building this thing and trying to start it I found it was a royal pain to get the siphon started. So my solution was to add a brass shut off with compression fitting on it to get rid of the air. It is just an inline shutoff valve with 1/4" compression fittings on either end. I left the fitting off one end and screwed it into the very top of the siphon tube crossover and added a short piece of 1/4" tubing so I can suck out the air. Now it is a breeze to start. Here is some pics to show you what I did. If you would like to see more pics of the build up PM me and I can send you some. I was planning on doing a full DIY in it when i got it running.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	jan12_01__medium_.jpg
Views:	108
Size:	38.6 KB
ID:	62   Click image for larger version

Name:	jan12_02__medium_.jpg
Views:	118
Size:	68.0 KB
ID:	63  

__________________
easyian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 03:29 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,111
We managed to get our syphon started with a lot of suction and 4 hands (and a couple mouthfuls of thankfully tap water), but when the water stopped, the syphon broke and it wouldn't restart when we started the pump again. Could you give me the dimensions on your verticles? I think we may have something off there. It looks like your tank part is shorter than your outside section, is that the case? I'm also a little unclear as to how you have the valve mounted at the top. Any extra details you could provide there would be greatly appreciated!
__________________
Phyllis

Join the NJ Reef Club Today! Saving the world's reefs one living room at a time!
MACNA XXI Atlantic City, NJ September 25-27, 2009
Phyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2005, 03:46 AM   #26
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kamloops, BC
Posts: 206
Phyl
Unfortunatly I PMd you before I read this post. But here are the dimensions I used.
The siphon tube you see in the tank are 5" long not including the elbows and tees then the down tubes on the back side are 8" long. The up tubes are 6".

First pic two up front 5"
Second pic two longer ones 8" three shorter ones 6"
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dec28014__medium_.jpg
Views:	83
Size:	54.3 KB
ID:	89   Click image for larger version

Name:	dec28013__medium_.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	76.5 KB
ID:	90  

__________________
easyian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2005, 03:50 AM   #27
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kamloops, BC
Posts: 206
I dont know if the pics i pmd worked
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	jan13_05__large_.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	79.4 KB
ID:	91   Click image for larger version

Name:	jan13_01__large__166.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	92.9 KB
ID:	92  

__________________
easyian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2005, 11:28 AM   #28
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,111
Great! Thanks for all the information. I'll let you know how we do tonight when we adjust the lengths and we glue it together . Our in-tank legs right now are the same length as our back lines. The picture of the valve is great. What do you figure the theory is behind that spout that goes up that is open? That makes so little sense to me! Seems like air would get into the system through that when you shut it off. We actually covered ours in an attempt to get it to keep running (before I posted here) to no avail.
__________________
Phyllis

Join the NJ Reef Club Today! Saving the world's reefs one living room at a time!
MACNA XXI Atlantic City, NJ September 25-27, 2009
Phyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2005, 12:26 PM   #29
AA Team Emeritus
 
jsoong's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phyl
What do you figure the theory is behind that spout that goes up that is open? That makes so little sense to me! .
That is to prevent a 2nd siphon from being established between the back of tank loop & your drain line to the sump. <Am I making sense?>. In case of a pump failure, a siphon in the back of tank loop will drain off the "real" siphon tubes & break the siphon. So the open tube is to prevent that.

FYI, the durso system would have this open tube capped & a small hole drilled into the cap. That makes the back loop into a partial siphon. This greatly reduces the noise of the overflow & still provide for a siphon break at that location.

BTW - keep the results coming on this project! I am waiting for you guinea pigs to work out the kinks before I build mine! <THANKS!>
__________________
80 gal FW with 30 gal DIY wet/dry/sump.
9 fancy golds, 1 hillstream loaches, 1 rubber-lip pleco (C. thomasi), 3 SAEs, small school of white cloud minnows, planted.
jsoong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2005, 10:05 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kamloops, BC
Posts: 206
I agree with jsoong. If that vent wasn't in there then the siphon would not break when the level got to the line you want it to stop at. That way it would suck the water out until the in tank overflows were exposed. Im not 100% sure but when the siphon did break i dont believe that it would start again when you wanted it to.
__________________

__________________
easyian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, overflow, start

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External Overflow - how to start the siphoning? (pic's) 1brent1 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 9 03-13-2011 04:13 PM
how to start overflow siphon Fierro Nights Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 08-22-2008 03:19 PM
Wanting to Start a Planted Tank ... Dont Know Where to Start Viperboy Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 10 03-25-2006 07:48 PM
Pulse start, probe start, electronic?? What's up??? runway1 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 02-05-2005 01:09 AM
Want to start a coral/reef system...where to start? rdefino Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 10-19-2004 10:09 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.