Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-17-2005, 11:21 AM   #31
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,012
does anyone have any flow rates yet?
__________________

__________________
75 gal
4x65w PC
AquaC Remora Pro
140#s Live Rock from LiveRocks.com
Frogspawn, Hammer, Zoos, Leather Frag, and Xenia and Green Star Polyp frags from fishfreek and Alarmguy66, Thanks!
Member of the Unofficial A-Team
bound_for_obx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2005, 05:16 PM   #32
AA Team Emeritus
 
jsoong's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by easyian
Im not 100% sure but when the siphon did break i dont believe that it would start again when you wanted it to.
I think that the siphon will be maintained in case of a power out & will restart when the power comes back on. However, I see a possible problem. On your picture, it looks like the sump exit point is higher than the tank intake strainers? The water level in the tank will need to be higher than that level ( and quite a bit higher than the level of the strainer) before the siphon will flow.

This is like what I have now (although I made it with a back overflow box). The water level in the tank end up controlled by the sump outlet level, plus a bit extra "head pressure" to drive the siphon. I find that it is a PITA to adjust, as the water level will change with any change in return pump flow, back pressure from the wet/dry, etc. <That is one reason I want to make a new one>.

The system I am planning <see picture> will have the sump outlet between the strainer & the bottom of the in-tank loop. I think this way, the water level is controlled by the strainer height, and the driving pressure through the siphon is fixed so I'll have constant flow.

Any one see any flaw in the design?
Attached Images
 
__________________

__________________
80 gal FW with 30 gal DIY wet/dry/sump.
9 fancy golds, 1 hillstream loaches, 1 rubber-lip pleco (C. thomasi), 3 SAEs, small school of white cloud minnows, planted.
jsoong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2005, 09:59 PM   #33
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kamloops, BC
Posts: 206
The reason that the rear is higher now is because I havn't put the strainer pieces into place yet. The rear tubes are at the waterline I wanted in my tank. It keeps the water just above the glass line so you do not see the top of the water while viewing from the front.

Here is what it will eventually look like. Pic courtsey of Craig's DIY Reef Ideas
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	overflow_1024.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	89.5 KB
ID:	187  
__________________
easyian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2005, 09:47 PM   #34
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kamloops, BC
Posts: 206
Phyl hows the overflow working?
__________________
easyian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2005, 12:17 PM   #35
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,111
We haven't finished it yet. We have the airtube thing installed, just need to glue it together and test it. I'll definitely post back when I have some news!
__________________
Phyllis

Join the NJ Reef Club Today! Saving the world's reefs one living room at a time!
MACNA XXI Atlantic City, NJ September 25-27, 2009
Phyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2005, 04:04 PM   #36
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 351
Send a message via MSN to Kasakato
Do you think that would work with 1/2" PVC pipes? I want a super low flow rate, for my 20g tank.
__________________
Kasakato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2005, 07:57 PM   #37
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kamloops, BC
Posts: 206
I dont see why it wouldn't work you would just have to recalculate some of the measurements to work with your tank and the size of the PVC. I havn't been able to afford my pump yet so I havn't been able to let anyone know how well it works on the tank. It worked well hanging off the side of the laundry tub with the tap on though.
__________________
easyian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 12:38 AM   #38
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cordova, TN
Posts: 172
Send a message via MSN to Verbalkint Send a message via Yahoo to Verbalkint
Just curious, as I have not seen any real numbers yet...

Using the 1" PVC, what are the lengths of the straight parts?

For instance, the length of the strainers is cake.. Determined by how much water you want in the tank.

But, the other straight parts... How long should those be?
__________________
Verbalkint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 12:23 PM   #39
AA Team Emeritus
 
jsoong's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 4,222
I think the length is up to you. It is a compromize between looks & function.

My thinking is expressed in the drawing I made few posts back. You need to have the sump outlet between the intake strainer & the bottom of the in tank loop. For maximum flow, you want as much height between the intake water level & the sump out. If looks was not a concern, you would want to have the in tank loop down to the tank bottom & site the sump out almost at the bottom. This is like a drilled tank's arrangement, and will give you something like 20" of head pressure to drive the siphon - that should give great flow rates & may allow for smaller tube size. But I think a big thing like that would be ugly!

I am waiting for some flow numbers to see how short I can make the in tank loop & still get good flow. I read few years ago a site that has a calculator on head pressure & flow rate through siphons. I am trying to find that again to give me some guide on height needed. If all else fails, I'll have to experiment in the bathtub.
__________________
80 gal FW with 30 gal DIY wet/dry/sump.
9 fancy golds, 1 hillstream loaches, 1 rubber-lip pleco (C. thomasi), 3 SAEs, small school of white cloud minnows, planted.
jsoong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 05:07 PM   #40
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 351
Send a message via MSN to Kasakato
About how much PVC did you use? I was going to go to HD anyways so I guess I could get this at the same time. Also how much is it?
__________________

__________________
Kasakato is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, overflow, start

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External Overflow - how to start the siphoning? (pic's) 1brent1 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 9 03-13-2011 04:13 PM
how to start overflow siphon Fierro Nights Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 08-22-2008 03:19 PM
Wanting to Start a Planted Tank ... Dont Know Where to Start Viperboy Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 10 03-25-2006 07:48 PM
Pulse start, probe start, electronic?? What's up??? runway1 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 02-05-2005 01:09 AM
Want to start a coral/reef system...where to start? rdefino Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 10-19-2004 10:09 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.