Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-27-2015, 08:49 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
boxxmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Richmond, Va.
Posts: 162
Hydor Koralia question

Not sure if this fits the DIY category, but here goes. I want to install my two Koralias on my overflow ( 92 gallon corner reef tank with built-in overflow ). I have contacted Hydor and they said the magnets would be ok submerged under water. Now, my question is how to get the magnets to hold together since the magnets are flat and the overflow is round? Any advice would be appreciated. I am trying to get a better flow in my tank and think that the flow would be good if I can direct it towards the front glass for dispersal. Thanks.
__________________

__________________
boxxmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 08:51 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
Get stronger magnets for the exterior,.should keep them pinned on the curve, add a piece of rubber on the inside for friction.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 09:17 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
boxxmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Richmond, Va.
Posts: 162
so, where would I put the stronger magnets at? I want to put them on one side of the overflow (on the inside) and the powerhead on the outside (in the main tank)
__________________
boxxmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 09:29 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
I'm not well versed in your setup, I know my hydor has a dual magnet mounting deal. If the opposite magnet needs to be submersed than it may take a more specialized magnet?? Would the opposite magnet stay dry? Salt free?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 10:17 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
boxxmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Richmond, Va.
Posts: 162
The opposite magnets would be exposed to the water in the overflow. Not sure if water would affect the magnets.
__________________
boxxmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 10:26 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 18,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by boxxmann View Post
The opposite magnets would be exposed to the water in the overflow. Not sure if water would affect the magnets.
They'd rust I'd suspect unless properly sheathed. Maybe a silicone coating? Plastidip?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 12:41 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
www.kjmagnetics.com has plastic coated rare earth magnets. see if any of them will suit your needs.
__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 02:16 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
boxxmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Richmond, Va.
Posts: 162
I actually spoke to Hydor the other day. They say that the magnets that are in the tank are the same magnets that are on the outside. The only difference is that the inside magnets are mounted on an anti-vibration plate. So it seems that I'm good to go. Now the only issue I have now is do I really put the powerheads on the overflow? Just trying to get a more even flow across my corner bowfront tank.
__________________
boxxmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 02:57 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
boxxmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Richmond, Va.
Posts: 162
Do you think a pic would help?

Sent from my VS980 4G using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
boxxmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 09:40 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
boxxmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Richmond, Va.
Posts: 162
?

Sent from my VS980 4G using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
boxxmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hydor, hydor koralia, koralia, question

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hydor Koralia 240 question sansouci01 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 11-24-2013 01:29 AM
Question about Hydor Koralia gph Turbosnail General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 03-02-2011 09:30 AM
trade - koralia 3 for your koralia 2 mandown123 Archive 4 06-24-2008 09:13 AM
Hydor Koralia Water Circulation Pump roka64 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 14 10-27-2007 08:35 PM
Hydor Koralia 3 ccCapt General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 04-28-2007 10:38 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.