Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-15-2013, 05:17 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
AfricanCichlidOwner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 117
Ideas in making a water changer?

I don't want to spend money on a python from what I've heard they break a lot so any ideas anyone? Any help would be awesome!
__________________

__________________
AfricanCichlidOwner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 08:00 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ian086's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Drogheda, Ireland
Posts: 3,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by AfricanCichlidOwner View Post
I don't want to spend money on a python from what I've heard they break a lot so any ideas anyone? Any help would be awesome!
Hey. I was just thinking the same recently!!. My problem is trying to get a python or aqueon. I have to import from the US and the postage is crazy, $70 just postage!!. Here is what i am planning on doing. Forgive me if i use the incorrect terms for the equipment but i'm sure you'll know what i mean...
What you need is;
A Faucet adopter
A hose connector(it's like a cone shape, either plastic but preferably metal)
A garden hose, whatever length you need
A gravel cleaner/vac, one that the original hose can be removed and replaced with the garden hose.
A tap.
The faucet adopter connects to your faucet and the hose adopter connects to this. Connect the hose to the hose adopter. Connect the hose to the gravel vac. All the connections should be secured by the metal clips(tightened by the screw)...
This is what i do at the moment. I connect my gravel vac to a spare bit of hose and put the hose out the room window into the garden. I can just leave the tank to drain by itself. My problem is filling it up. I think the plan i have is going to sort that. When it's finished draining just connect the end to the faucet and fill. When you have enough water in your tank, you can turn the water off with the black tap. I set my hot water tank to the temperature of my tank, i then don't have to worry about matching water with the temp of the tank. Declor the whole volume of the tank BEFORE refilling it and it will be fine...
PS... I have included pics to make it easier to understand!!!
Attached Images
   
__________________

__________________
Ian086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 08:03 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ian086's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Drogheda, Ireland
Posts: 3,096
Forgot the on/off tap!!
Attached Images
 
__________________
Ian086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 11:23 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
AfricanCichlidOwner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 117
Thanks sound pretty cheap to try it out!
__________________
AfricanCichlidOwner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 11:27 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ian086's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Drogheda, Ireland
Posts: 3,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by AfricanCichlidOwner View Post
Thanks sound pretty cheap to try it out!
Yeah the hose will be the most expensive part, unless you already have one...
__________________
Ian086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 11:28 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
AfricanCichlidOwner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 117
I love a good project haha. Thank again.
__________________
AfricanCichlidOwner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 11:30 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ian086's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Drogheda, Ireland
Posts: 3,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by AfricanCichlidOwner View Post
I love a good project haha. Thank again.
No problem, let us know how you get on....
__________________
Ian086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 12:11 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Slade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Leland, NC
Posts: 527
That's pretty much what I did. Preferable to a python if gravity will work for you because you waste less water. Don't use the shutoff with the sink running though the back pressure will spurt water everywhere. I recently got a second hose and now use one to drain and the other to refill. This saves a load of time when doing PWC on four tanks.
__________________
Slade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 12:29 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ian086's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Drogheda, Ireland
Posts: 3,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slade View Post
That's pretty much what I did. Preferable to a python if gravity will work for you because you waste less water. Don't use the shutoff with the sink running though the back pressure will spurt water everywhere. I recently got a second hose and now use one to drain and the other to refill. This saves a load of time when doing PWC on four tanks.
Can you post some pictures, i'm curious now about the extra hose!!!
__________________

__________________
Ian086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.