Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-13-2005, 10:58 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
krap101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Roscoe, IL
Posts: 6,084
Send a message via AIM to krap101
yeah i do. so i think i might get a 35 watt light? or maybe a 30? 40 seems a bit much

oh and i bought the wood today. it costed 45$ and i didnt even get all of it. each 2x4x4 costed about 1.89 and the 11 1/4x 4' costed around 3.80. i bought the 11 1/4 because it was already like hmm. sealed and stuff so i wouldnt really have to paint that much.

Im thinking of making a cabinet on the bottom? with maybe a 1/2 or 1 inch thick boards? just a thin thing to cover it.

i got bolts thinking that i could bolt the whole thing together, but i was thinking of the boards running parallel to eachother. how long of screws will i need?
__________________

__________________
~ Danny
krap101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2005, 11:03 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: perth australia
Posts: 1,599
thats totally personal preferance..
it's like hydroponics, the more light u have the more it'll grow, but so will the algae.
screws need to be long enough to go through both bits of wood, but not protrude through the other side..
also use liquid nails, or wood glue for added strength.
have u got a pic or diagram?
I might be purchasing another 125 gallon cheap, so i need to build a stand long enough for both of my 125's.
Heres a 6 foot tank stand I did at work. It's a bit of an overkill, but it would have to hold over a tonne.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg stand_777.jpg (123.7 KB, 24 views)
File Type: jpg stand_128.jpg (123.7 KB, 39 views)
__________________

__________________
DeFeKt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2005, 11:16 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: perth australia
Posts: 1,599
oops posted twice
__________________
Dimidiochromis compressiceps,
Astatotilapia latifasciata
Melanochromis cyaneorhabdos
Labidochromis caeruleus
Cynotilapia afra 'Cobue'
Pseudotropheus acei 'Msuli Point'
Aulunocara stuartgranti 'chipoka'
Labidochromis freibergi
Oreochromis mossambicus
Etroplus suratensis
DeFeKt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 12:26 AM   #24
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
krap101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Roscoe, IL
Posts: 6,084
Send a message via AIM to krap101
hmm... i had the main idea but i didnt really have much to build the base. thanks!
__________________
~ Danny
krap101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 12:37 AM   #25
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: perth australia
Posts: 1,599
keep me posted if u can.
__________________
Dimidiochromis compressiceps,
Astatotilapia latifasciata
Melanochromis cyaneorhabdos
Labidochromis caeruleus
Cynotilapia afra 'Cobue'
Pseudotropheus acei 'Msuli Point'
Aulunocara stuartgranti 'chipoka'
Labidochromis freibergi
Oreochromis mossambicus
Etroplus suratensis
DeFeKt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 12:38 AM   #26
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
krap101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Roscoe, IL
Posts: 6,084
Send a message via AIM to krap101
this might take awhile because my funds have been cut off for awhile
__________________
~ Danny
krap101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 04:25 AM   #27
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
Your plants can outcompete the algae givin enough CO2 and ferts. so it all depends on what you want to do..
__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 09:51 AM   #28
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
krap101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Roscoe, IL
Posts: 6,084
Send a message via AIM to krap101
ill probally hook a diy co2 up to my 5 gallon if i use it as a sump, or i can get another 10 gallon and use it as a sump maybe? id rather use the sump because i think it will be cheaper than buying 4 filters. but the pump will problally need be pretty strong because it might be going up around 4 feet and spread out into 4 tanks
__________________
~ Danny
krap101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 08:09 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: perth australia
Posts: 1,599
I'm not sure if diy co2 would be enough for 40+ gallons?
it'd pay to check threads on effeciency and output of diy co2.
__________________
Dimidiochromis compressiceps,
Astatotilapia latifasciata
Melanochromis cyaneorhabdos
Labidochromis caeruleus
Cynotilapia afra 'Cobue'
Pseudotropheus acei 'Msuli Point'
Aulunocara stuartgranti 'chipoka'
Labidochromis freibergi
Oreochromis mossambicus
Etroplus suratensis
DeFeKt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 08:56 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
krap101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Roscoe, IL
Posts: 6,084
Send a message via AIM to krap101
maybe 3-4 going at the same time? i dont have the money to buy all that co2 stuff. the canister might be around 50$. thats not the problem.. but you need all those like 100$ valves dont you?

im going to try to make the stand first and then decide what im going to do . this might take a few months because i dont have my own saw so i have to go to menards or something to cut it. but i promised myself i would get it done. because i have a bad habit of getting the idea and starting but i usually dont finish it.

okay so... is im going to use the 5 or 10 for a sump can i use like 1 big heater in there or should i use 1 in each tank?

how big of a pump should i use to try to get it back up and split? ill have a pond pump (300 gph) lying around and i might try and use that.

or maybe ill have 1 planted tank and 2 non planted tanks? so ill onyl have to do 1 diy co2?

i think i may try to do the 20 long on the bottom and 2 10's on the top. maybe i can fit my 5 gallon on the bottom with the 20. ive only cut 4 pieces of wood so far, but ill be doing more in a couple days once i figure out the measurements etc.
__________________

__________________
~ Danny
krap101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
10 gallon, stand, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will my stand hold a 75gal tank? CEverii General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 02-03-2010 03:49 PM
JBJ 28 Gallons Nano Cube with High Output LED Fixture with FREE STAND AquaCave Vendor Spotlight (Deals, Announcements & More) 1 12-07-2009 01:16 AM
Can a 30 Gallon stand hold a 38/45 gallon tank? tropicalfish General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 12-30-2006 01:06 PM
Will this stand hold up??? weekf Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 09-10-2006 09:25 PM
Litres, Liters, Gallons (UK), Gallons (US) Converting. mattrox Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 04-22-2005 12:43 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.