Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-14-2005, 09:10 PM   #31
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: perth australia
Posts: 1,599
Quote:
50$. thats not the problem.. but you need all those like 100$ valves dont you?
I have no idea, I pulled all my plants out.
Quote:
make the stand first and then decide what im going to do
be careful with that, some people build tanks by the inside of the glass dimensions, sum by the outside, so if its 5mm glass, theres another 20mm u'll need to add if its inside dimensions.
Quote:
can i use like 1 big heater in there
sounds ok, maybe 1 200-300w? it WILL be serving 40+ gallons.
let me know if u need anything drawn up.
I do 3D Pipe and structural design, so it looks pretty much like the job i'm on anyway
__________________

__________________
Dimidiochromis compressiceps,
Astatotilapia latifasciata
Melanochromis cyaneorhabdos
Labidochromis caeruleus
Cynotilapia afra 'Cobue'
Pseudotropheus acei 'Msuli Point'
Aulunocara stuartgranti 'chipoka'
Labidochromis freibergi
Oreochromis mossambicus
Etroplus suratensis
DeFeKt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 09:54 PM   #32
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
The normal 2 two liter bottle DIY CO2 systems are used for up to 55 gallon systems, so a normal DIY system should do..
__________________

__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 09:56 PM   #33
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
krap101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Roscoe, IL
Posts: 6,084
Send a message via AIM to krap101
okay so now that i know i can use 1 heater, 1 diy co2 (on my planted 10) and use the 5 or another 10 as a sump, how can i build the overflow? i know i need 2 plastic boxes. and i need to do all this pvc crap. i tried reading stuff from my searches, but i dont know where to get the "specimen box"

so you use 2 "specimen boxes" and cut some stuff out of the top of the one in the tank. you have a u tube, going into the 2nd box and have a hole at the bottom. you get some pvc connectors and connect them to the hole and get the pvc down to the sump. then you need to silicone come acrylic walls to make the place for the gravel, floss and stuff, then you get a pump and pump water back to the tanks.

am i missing something? can i get a premade box from like home depot or something? can i cut the acrylic with a hacksaw? etc etc.
__________________
~ Danny
krap101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 10:08 PM   #34
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
working with acrylic is on the cichlidfoum library.. there is also a good link in the sticky on this DIY page about making a acrylic tank that would be helpful with how to cut and work with acrylic.. I dont think they sell premade boxes at HD..

there is also a link for homemade bulkheads on cichlidfoums library that would work..
check the working with acrylic instructions.. silicone doesnt hold acrylic very well..
__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 11:09 PM   #35
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
krap101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Roscoe, IL
Posts: 6,084
Send a message via AIM to krap101
ic... but i dont think its worth it to drill my 10 gallon tank :/ plus i dont have the right tools thanks again greenie
__________________
~ Danny
krap101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 11:28 PM   #36
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
Quote:
Originally Posted by krap101
ic... but i dont think its worth it to drill my 10 gallon tank :/ plus i dont have the right tools thanks again greenie
I was talking about your overflow box..
__________________

__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
10 gallon, stand, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will my stand hold a 75gal tank? CEverii General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 02-03-2010 03:49 PM
JBJ 28 Gallons Nano Cube with High Output LED Fixture with FREE STAND AquaCave Vendor Spotlight (Deals, Announcements & More) 1 12-07-2009 01:16 AM
Can a 30 Gallon stand hold a 38/45 gallon tank? tropicalfish General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 12-30-2006 01:06 PM
Will this stand hold up??? weekf Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 09-10-2006 09:25 PM
Litres, Liters, Gallons (UK), Gallons (US) Converting. mattrox Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 04-22-2005 12:43 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.