Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-21-2003, 11:33 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,227
inline temp probe

I'm looking for a inline temperature probe to monitor the temp of water going to my RO+DI unit.

the few i've found online all appear to be industrial in nature, or otherwise very expensive

so I'm thinking along these lines...

1) go to discount store and get a $10 digital thermometer

2) also pickup a 1/4" x ? x 1/4" tee - hopefully like a 3/8th center tap or something larger than 1/4", so I don't have to trim the probe of it's plastic shell.

3) taking the probe, coat it with some jb-weld, and cram it into the T, and finish off with some more jb-weld

after the epoxy has cured for 24 hours, hook it up and test it out

sound good?

I've been trying to think of a better way to seal the probe in, but nothing is coming to mind ... the water pressure is considerable, but jb weld works well on metal, so I'm hoping it will hold in there.
__________________

__________________
justDIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2003, 10:21 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Just one way to find out.
__________________

__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2003, 03:50 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
yea that sounds like a decent plan to me. I actually just picked up one of those digital thermometers for $10 at our local conglomomart bulk retail store. Nothing like buying enough kool-aid mix for 12 gallons of kool-aid in a single can!
__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2003, 05:19 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 120
radio shack sells a dual temperature monitor. it has a temp probe inside the unit itself and another on a cord, designed to be run out a window or what not. if you were to silicone the probe into a Y fitting, i think it would work out. and because i lub paint (dont harrass me cuz i spend 30 seconds on a drawing =p):
__________________
Centurion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2003, 12:22 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,227
inline temp probe completed

total build time: 8 min

total build cost: $15

my plan for the tee worked better than expected. I didn't have to use expoxy or anything. the probe itself worked out to be just a hair bigger than the ID on some 1/4" tubing, so I heated the tubing up with boiling water, crammed the probe into it, and then installed the tubing into a 1/4x1/4x1/4 normal compression style tee.

anyway, heres some pics, click this first one to visit the project gallery:

__________________
justDIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2003, 12:36 AM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
That looks great! I might put one together here.
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2003, 05:47 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
That looks sweet!

The simplest solutions are the best.
__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2004, 12:03 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 5
Looks great. One suggestion.
The brass fitting will lose heat to the air quite fast and give a lower reading with low flow rate. It would be more accurate if you put some insulating material around it (some thin foam or cloth would do).
__________________
sellis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2004, 01:35 PM   #9
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I have a question. If an RO+DI is supposed to be hooked up on the cold side plumbing, why would you have to monitor the temperature of the water going in an RO+DI when it wouldn't be hot anyway?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2004, 03:08 PM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Our RO membranes work most effectivly at warmer temperatures. I belive the sweet spot might be something like 70*F. For those in warmer climents its not uncommon for their ground water to be in the 40's. That cold of water can cause a large drop off in the GPD production of the RO unit. My carefully mixing cold and hot water to acheve a water temperature close to 70F the full effecency of the RO unit can be acheved.

This is what I have heard. I have no practicle experence to base this on.
__________________

__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Snails: Max temp? Min temp? Fromthelbc Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 06-29-2009 10:03 PM
temp probe location? m.parker Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 07-20-2007 10:11 AM
Inline Heater and Inline CO2 Reactor - Which goes first? dapellegrini Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 09-13-2006 01:09 AM
ph probe and temp lilismom1 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 04-15-2004 12:50 AM
pH Probe astride13 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 11-03-2003 09:38 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.