Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-31-2011, 04:09 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 77
Send a message via AIM to prisoner1572 Send a message via Yahoo to prisoner1572
Is my protein skimmer working?

I made my own protein skimmer a while ago for my 125g FOWLR. The tank has 5 fish in it: blue tang, clown fish, six line wrasse, scooter blenny and green chromis.

I have an airline at the intake of the pump which creates fine air bubbles. The bubbles make it all the way through the chamber like they are supposed to but I never get much protein foam. I've never had the foam head make it into the collection cup in the few years that its been running. Is this due to a design flaw in the skimmer or because my bio load is small?
__________________

__________________
prisoner1572 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 04:51 PM   #2
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
If it's been a few years I would have to think its a possible design flaw. I wouldnt' expect you to have had a lot of skimmate, but definately some.

Are you able to control to water level in the main body?
__________________

__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 11:06 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 77
Send a message via AIM to prisoner1572 Send a message via Yahoo to prisoner1572
I have a ball valve between the pump and the skimmer which controls the flow speed. Changing this does change the height of the water to some extent.
__________________
prisoner1572 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 11:24 PM   #4
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
Have you tried it at higher settings to see if it produces anything?
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 02:31 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 77
Send a message via AIM to prisoner1572 Send a message via Yahoo to prisoner1572
Quote:
Originally Posted by neilanh View Post
Have you tried it at higher settings to see if it produces anything?
I will try and play with it this weekend. What is the goal in having the water at a higher level: faster flow, closer to collection cup, shape of chamber?
__________________
prisoner1572 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
protein, protein skimmer, skimmer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Protein skimmer not working. ThAtGuY11 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 11-15-2007 07:00 PM
New Skimmer Still not working? blazeyreef General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 12 05-17-2007 01:54 PM
Is my protein skimmer working? mnestroy Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 8 05-11-2006 10:21 AM
Is my Protein Skimmer working? spinman General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 07-04-2005 01:03 PM
Protein Skimmer isnt working? hotskate Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 11-01-2003 03:54 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.