Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-14-2006, 10:43 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Angola, NY
Posts: 83
Send a message via AIM to jbro
Long Siphon Tube

Hi,
I'm replacing my sump with with a sump/refugium and as long as I am doing this, I'm also going to hardpipe my overflow & return lines.
I'd like to modify my external overflow box to hang at the bottom of the tank, but still higher than the sump. This is to to hide the box and muffle sound behind a chair. My aquarium is used as a 3-sided room divider. I'd like to keep the box as opposed to a standpipe for mechanical filtration.

This means that the siphon tube will have to be longer, creating more head pressure in the overflow box. Does anyone see a problem with this? Will I get too much overflow? Has anyone ever done this?

I can make a drawing, if that would explain things better. Thanks.
__________________

__________________
jbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2006, 11:14 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ezy33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco's Barbary Coast
Posts: 2,545
Send a message via ICQ to ezy33
Quote:
Will I get too much overflow?
Yes the overflow box need to at the water level of the tank.
__________________

__________________
Not one shred of evidence supports the notion that life is serious.
ezy33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2006, 11:26 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
i'm not sure I'm seeing what you're trying to do, a sketch may help.
__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2006, 08:17 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Angola, NY
Posts: 83
Send a message via AIM to jbro
Here's a crude drawing.

Are you sure about too much flow, Ezy?
Attached Images
File Type: psd overflow_199.psd (161.2 KB, 63 views)
__________________
jbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2006, 10:23 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
sorry, i can't open psd files here, have another file format, such as jpg or gif?
__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2006, 01:19 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
krap101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Roscoe, IL
Posts: 6,084
Send a message via AIM to krap101
http://www.imagestation.com/picture/...6/ef5a861f.jpg
__________________
~ Danny
krap101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2006, 02:39 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 376
I do not recommend that. If your drain is stopped your syphon will continue and overflow into the floor. The back box is usually taller than the inside box for that purpose. It creates an equilibrium if the drain is plugged.
__________________
noteworthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2006, 11:02 AM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
Thanks Krap.

Sorry Jbro, but that won't work. The reason the internal and external boxes are at the same height is to maintain the siphon during changes in flow rate and power outages.

With what you're proposing, if the power went out or your return pump slows for a moment, the water in the long siphon tube would drain out into your sump completely emptying your internal overflow box and break the siphon. Then when the power turns back on your return pump begins to fill the main tank again, but the siphon is broken and so you will overflow your main tank.
__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2006, 03:11 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
czcz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: US
Posts: 2,821
Instead, you could hardpipe a Durso or Stockman standpipe to the external box to lower noise. http://www.rl180reef.com/180/pages/s...s/stockman.htm
__________________
"2- before attempting to plant, have a beer or a Bourbon. That will help to steady your hands…" -- elwaine

wet.biggiantnerds.com
czcz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2006, 01:24 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Angola, NY
Posts: 83
Send a message via AIM to jbro
Thanks everybody! I'm going to go with the standpipe.
__________________

__________________
jbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
long, siphon, tube

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Identify plz. 3" long worms like human hair, living in a tube in my sponge. litebrite Saltwater & Reef - Identification 1 01-28-2009 08:38 PM
U shaped or siphon tube overflow better? Yao General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 04-15-2006 12:27 AM
Help with U tube losing siphon ellisz DIY Projects 2 01-28-2004 11:44 AM
siphon tube fishtender Saltwater & Reef - Identification 2 11-18-2003 12:43 PM
Help with Python Siphon... HOLLIEO Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 16 07-21-2003 08:52 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.