Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 04-12-2010, 10:32 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist

Send a message via Yahoo to SnailPowered
Cool "Maintenance free" ideas

Hello all, I am a soldier that is currently deployed so I have plenty of time to plan and ponder possibilities. I have a 75 gallon tank that I really want to turn into a reef tank but everyone tells me that reef tanks require a lot of maintenance and I am gone for days on a regular basis when I am not deployed and occasionally weeks or even a month...then there are deployments of course. So my other idea was to make a refugium for a freshwater tank. I have no idea if that would be a waste of time but I thought that maybe it would be a good place to start and then when I have someone to watch my tank for me or I get out of the military I will be able to just convert everything to salt water.
The real questions I have are:
1. Is a refugium pointless in a fresh water tank?
2. What size refugium would you use for a 75g tank?
3. Is there a way to set up a salt water tank that could possibly go a month without maintenance?
4. What are some good places to learn a lot of different plants and fish? I have really only ever gone from store to store and looked at what they had.

As I said before I have lots of time to look around and ponder and consider everyone's suggestions, and then when I get home I will document the process of setting the whole thing up! Thank you all in advance!

Old 04-12-2010, 11:38 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict