Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-06-2012, 01:58 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Making my own sump!

Want to change my current premade sump to a 55g sump. I can get the tank easily, already have all of the equipment. I was just wondering how to make it. When I silicone it in, how do I do that? Skimmer first, fuge second, return third. What should the baffles be like? I want minimal micro bubbles. A pic would really help. Thanks. How much money am I looking at????
__________________

__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 02:00 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
And how do I get the glass or acrylic cut? Should the baffles be glass? Acrylic? Can I cut one of them easily myself?
__________________

__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 03:02 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Smitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 1,206
If the tank is glass then I recommend glass baffles (at least 1/4" thick, 1/8" is very brittle). You can use silicone. They say that some varieties of GE silicone is safe, but I only used the stuff I could get in a large tube from my LFS.

You need to know how big of a footprint your equipment will have before you put in the glass. I would put your skimmer in the intake section and make it as small as you can but still be able to easily get the skimmer and anything else in and out. I did put a one-way bubble trap here into my live rock/chaeto section (basically the water falls down, then exits into the middle section on the bottom. I think have another bubble trap into my return that is also one-way (exits at the bottom).

Leave at most 1" at the bottom of the bubble trap. Any more than that and you'll get bubbles going through.

I also did a 55g sump and I think my return section ended up being around 14". I wanted a larger return section to help with water changes. I can drain 7 gallons before getting to the point of starving the return pump.

For the glass, I went to a local glass shop. They cut all the baffles for me. I don't remember exactly how wide I made the glass, but it was 1/4" less than the width of the glass inside the tank. I think I paid $5-$6 per baffle. You can use acrilic but I'm told the silicone doesn't stick as good to it.
__________________
Smitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 01:49 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Can you post a pic of your sump?
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 03:48 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
This good? Should I put sand in or not? Easier to clean detritus without sand........ Don't judge my drawing LOL
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 03:48 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Sorry pic.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-770643760.jpg
Views:	153
Size:	57.8 KB
ID:	105065  
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 04:57 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Smitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 1,206
I think it could work. Here is a picture of mine. It wasn't quite finished in this picture because I added the extra baffle after the intake area and that isn't shown...

Intake is the far right, the water goes under that first glass. My skimmer sits on the egg crate, then goes into live rock/chaeto (I have egg crate at the top to keep the chaeto in) and then a bubble trap and return. I don't have any micro bubbles in my tank. This is a 55 sump and with the height of my baffles (I think 14") It holds 35 gallons when running. If there is a power outage there is plenty of room for drainage but the water does end up over the top of the baffles.

__________________
Smitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 09:50 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
SWSCJ's Avatar

Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Virginia Beach, Virginia
Posts: 475
Here's one I made from a 30 gallon long glass tank with acrylic baffles.
__________________
SWSCJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 04:24 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Leak test complete! Picked the 55 up a little bit ago.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-911208767.jpg
Views:	131
Size:	63.5 KB
ID:	105331   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1034746332.jpg
Views:	119
Size:	65.1 KB
ID:	105332  

__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 06:20 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Got the dimensions of the baffles. 2x 11 7/8"x9 1/2" and 2x 11 7/8x17 1/4"!!!!!!!! Hopefully I can get the baffles tomorrow along with the silicone and stuff. I'll post picks later.
__________________

__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.