Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-20-2006, 10:56 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Roswell, GA
Posts: 159
MH light re-wiring questions

I just got a sweet 48" light fixture on ebay:
2x175w metal halides (20K bulbs)
2x54w T5 tubes
30 moonlights

OK, fixture arrives, and the T5 bulbs and moonlights are on the same circuit. This means that I cannot run T5's and moons on timer because if the T5s are on, so are the moonlights. Pretty dumb, eh?

Anyways, the fixture showed three power cords in the auction, and the fixture I got is as described but not the same as pictured in the auction. I wrote the seller back (especially since nowhere in the auction did it say "item pictured not actual item").

They shipped me 4 actinic T5 bulbs as a way to make it right, and I accepted, but I keep thinking about the difficulty of integrating other moonlights. I thought perhaps I could, without much effort, take the moonlight circuit off the T5 circuit and install another plug going straight to the moonlights, completely fixing my problem and allowing me to use timers for my whole system.

So DIY lighters, how difficult would it be to perform this operation, in your opinion?

Here's the auction:
link
__________________

__________________
clearerphish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2006, 11:49 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dskidmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Genesee Valley
Posts: 2,616
Shouldn't be too bad. Don't suppose you could give us a picture or diagram of the wiring? I'm guessing the power cord comes in, and then each wire is joined to 3 more wires, one to each of the ballasts, and one to the moonlight power supply. Ground probably goes to the housing, or one wire to each ballast. All you have to do is pull of the wire nuts, pull out the moonlights, and put the wire nuts back on. (May need smaller wire nuts, depending on the diameter of the wires and what was in place before.) Then get a new plug, and wire nut that to the moonlights, and you're done.

The only way it would be a problem is if the moonlights are somehow powered off one of the other ballasts instead of having it's own power supply.
__________________

dskidmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 07:10 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
snap a pic of the sticker on the ballast..

or if you can find the same one online a link would do just fine.
__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
light

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Got my new light!! Questions.... lbannie Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 02-16-2010 02:32 PM
Light Upgrade Questions meegosh Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 03-02-2009 09:41 PM
2 light questions for PC users squawkbert Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 11 01-03-2007 02:48 AM
Questions about my new light setup. THeCheat Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 12-26-2004 08:09 PM
cooling fan wiring questions ohio reefer DIY Projects 15 01-27-2004 02:28 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.