Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-21-2012, 01:25 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: LONDON - ENGLAND
Posts: 162
Multiple tank setup - help needed

i want to setup multiple tanks for breeding diffrent types of fish . but i dont want to use individual filters and heaters in each of the tanks . best way would be to setup a sump. but how is the best and easiest way of doing the plumbing . any help would be great .. thanks alot
__________________

__________________
Kingcichlid87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 03:08 PM   #2
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,047
The easiest way I've come up with is to drill each tank and add an overflow that drains into the sump. Then you just need a capable pump that puts the water back into the tanks and some sort of flow adjustment so that each tank is getting an adequate flow in it. This is how I plan to set up my tanks eventually, but drilling them is kind of a daunting task for me so I've been putting it off.
__________________

__________________
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 03:15 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Aquatic_Adam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,948
Also, if you are breeding, a universal filter isn't great. That is your breeding fish of similar breeding water parameters. A SA Cichlid obviously needs it different than an African. This is impossible to do with central filtration.
__________________
"What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left."
Aquatic_Adam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 03:18 PM   #4
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,047
What I've done so far is just get a commercial style air pump and run sponge filtration on all the tanks. It doesn't solve the heater issue, but I live in a warm area so I rarely use heaters anyway.
__________________
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 03:20 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Aquatic_Adam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,948
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetajockey
What I've done so far is just get a commercial style air pump and run sponge filtration on all the tanks. It doesn't solve the heater issue, but I live in a warm area so I rarely use heaters anyway.
+1

Airpump filters are far and away the best filtration for breeding I've found (not that I'm a breeding expert by any means).
__________________
"What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left."
Aquatic_Adam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 03:23 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: LONDON - ENGLAND
Posts: 162
ok thanks guys ill keep looking into what diffrent types of filtration i can use . but sponge filters are looking like the best option at the moment . but it doesnt solve the heater problem like jeta mentioned. i live in west london so the weathers up and down all the time i defo need heaters lol ..
__________________
Kingcichlid87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 03:27 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Aquatic_Adam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,948
Yeah that's a problem. Best option is finding heaters that you can adjust the temp at (not those auto 76 degree ones). But, again, that can get pricey.
__________________
"What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left."
Aquatic_Adam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 03:47 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: LONDON - ENGLAND
Posts: 162
i can get a 6way pump so thats the 6 sponge filters sorted out . will the 6 individual heaters take up much electricity ? ?
__________________
Kingcichlid87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 04:28 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Aquatic_Adam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,948
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingcichlid87
i can get a 6way pump so thats the 6 sponge filters sorted out . will the 6 individual heaters take up much electricity ? ?
Aside from lighting, aquarium equipment generally doesn't use that much electricity.

The pain in the butt will just having enough places to plug in all the stuff!
__________________
"What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left."
Aquatic_Adam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 04:47 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: LONDON - ENGLAND
Posts: 162
yeah i guess so . the piston pump runs off one plug so i would need a 6 way plug adapter .. for the heaters
__________________

__________________
Kingcichlid87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
setup, tan, tank, tank setup

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.